## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINORITY AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:796 ANSWERED ON:08.08.2013 MINORITY COMMUNITIES Kumar Shri Vishwa Mohan

## Will the Minister of MINORITY AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) the names of the communities included in the list of minority communities;

(b) the community-wise population thereof;

(c) whether the Government provides any assistance to the said communities for education as well as conservation and development of their culture; and

(d) if so, the community-wise amount of such assistance granted during the last three years?

## Answer

## MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF MINORITY AFFAIRS (SHRI NINONG ERING)

(a) & (b) As per caluse (c) of Section 2 of the National Commission for Minorities Act, 1992 (19 of 1992), the following five communities vide Ministry of Welfare notification dated 23rd October, 1993 are declared as minority communities. The community wise population of these five minority communities as per census 2001 is given as below:

Sl.No. Names of the Communities Population

- 1. Muslims 13,81,88,240
- 2. Christians 2,40,80,016
- 3. Sikhs 1,92,15,730
- 4. Buddhists 79,55,207

5. Zoroastrians (Parsis) 69,601

(c) & (d) This Ministry does not provide any assistance to the said communities for conservation of their culture. However, for educational development of these communities Government is implementing various welfare schemes viz.

1. Pre -Matric Scholarship Scheme

2. Post -Matric Scholarship Scheme

3. Merit-cum-Means Scholarship Scheme

- 4. Maulana Azad National Fellowship Scheme
- 5. Free Coaching & Allied Scheme.

The details of the financial assistance given under these schemes available in the official website of this Ministry at www.minority affairs.gov.in.