GOVERNMENT OF INDIA PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1763 ANSWERED ON:16.08.2013 DIRECT CASH TRANSFER SCHEME

Bais Shri Ramesh; Bauri Smt. Susmita; Chaudhary Shri Arvind Kumar; Manjhi Shri Hari; Putul Kumari Smt.; Thomas Shri P. T.

Will the Minister of PETROLEUM AND NATURAL GAS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Direct Benefit Transfer Scheme for Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) consumers has since been launched by the Government;
- (b) if so, the details thereof including the present status of the scheme;
- (c) the total number of Below Poverty Line (BPL) people/ consumers received LPG subsidy directly into their bank account so far along with the total amount paid for the purpose, State/UT-wise;
- (d) whether there has been an increase in the number of LPG subsidy beneficiaries under BPL category during the last three months, if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the time by which the said scheme is likely to be implemented across the country?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM & NATURAL GAS (SMT PANABAAKA LAKSHMI)

(a), (b) & (e) :Government of India has launched Direct Benefit Transfer for LPG (DBTL) Scheme in 20 high Aadhaar coverage districts of the country. In these districts, the LPG consumers who have linked their Aadhaar number to their LPG consumer number and to their bank accounts are getting all domestic LPG cylinders (subsidized as well as non subsidized cylinder) at market price. The difference between non- subsidized price and subsidized price of domestic LPG cylinder (excluding VAT) is being transferred directly to the consumers bank account as per consumers entitlement of subsidised cylinders. The list of Districts in which DBTL has been launched, as on 01.08.2013 is in Annexure.

So far (as on 11.08.2013), 19.9 million domestic LPG households have been provided permanent advance amounting to Rs. 84.3 Crores and 21 million subsidy on refills have been transferred amounting to Rs. 80.8 Crores

(c) & (d): Public Sector Oil Marketing Companies (OMCs) have reported that they do not categorise LPG consumers on basis of BPL status in their database.

Annexure

The details of the Districts in which DBTL has been launched is given below:-

```
Sr. No. State District Date of implementation
1. Andhra Pradesh Anantpur 01.06.2013
                                  01.06.2013
2. Andhra Pradesh Chittoor
3. Andhra Pradesh East Godavari 01.06.2013
4. Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad 01.06.2013
5. Andhra Pradesh Ranga Reddy 01.06.2013
6. Daman and Diu Diu 01.06.2013
7. Goa North Goa 01.06.2013
8. Himachal Pradesh Bilaspur 01.06.2013
9. Himachal Pradesh Hamirpur 01.06.2013
9. Himachal Pradesh Hamirpur
10. Himachal Pradesh Una 01.06.2013
11. Himachal Pradesh Mandi 01.08.20
                                    01.08.2013
12. Karnataka Tumkur 01.06.2013
13. Karnataka Mysore 01.07.2013
14. Kerala Pathanamthitta 01.06.2013
15. Kerala Wayanad 01.06.2013
16. Maharashtra Wardha
                              01.06.2013
17. Puducherry Puducherry 01.06.2013
18. Punjab SBS Nagar/ Nawanshahar 01.06.2013
```

19. Madhya Pradesh East Nimar (Khandwa) 01.06.2013