GOVERNMENT OF INDIA AGRICULTURE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2911 ANSWERED ON:27.08.2013 AWARD FOR AGRICULTURAL JOURNALISM Saroj Shri Tufani

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Indian Council of Agricultural Research bestows Ch. Charan Singh award every year for agricultural journalism;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the details of such award given so far to persons engaged in the private electronic media sector;
- (d) whether there have been irregularities in bestowing the said award; and
- (e) if so, the action taken in this regard?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FOOD PROCESSING INDUSTRIES (SHRI TARIQ ANWAR)

- (a) Yes, Madam.
- (b) Choudhary Charan Singh Award for Excellence in Journalism in Agricultural Research and Development was instituted by the ICAR in 2000 in order to recognize the outstanding contribution in Journalism in the field of Agricultural Research and Development in the country. The award carries Rs 1,00,000 as cash, a certificate and a citation. It is given annually for the outstanding contribution in Journalism in Agriculture and Allied Science through Hindi/English newspapers/magazines/Journals published in India. From 2010, an award for Journalist from electronic media, has also been added. An individual who has made significant contribution by way of writing/analyzing/reporting for enhancement/promotion of Indian Agriculture is eligible for this award.
- (c) Shri Hans Raj Nayak (Doordarshan), Shri Harendra Kumar Garg (Doordarshan) and Shri Virsain Malik (All India Radio) were bestowed this Award for the years 2010, 2011 and 2012, respectively. No one from private electronic media sector could win the award so far.
- (d) No.
- (e) Not applicable.