COMMITTEE ON PRIVATE MEMBERS' BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

(Fifteenth Lok Sabha)

THIRD REPORT

(*Presented on 9.12.2009*)

On behalf of the Committee on Private Members' Bills and Resolutions, I having been authorised by the Committee to present the Report, present this Third Report.

- 2. The Committee met on 7 December, 2009 for
 - I. Examination of three Constitution (Amendment) Bills under rule 294(1) (a) of the Rules of Procedure.
 - II. Allocation of time under rule 294(1)(e) of the Rules of Procedure to three Resolutions given notices of by Rajkumari Ratna Singh, Sarvashri Kaushalendra Kumar and Yashbant Narayan Sing Laguri, M.Ps.

Examination of Constitution (Amendment) Bills

3. The Committee examined the following three Constitution (Amendment) Bills:-

(1) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2009 (Amendment of article 253) by Shri Prabodh Panda, M.P.

The Bill seeks to amend the Constitution with a view to provide that every treaty, agreement or convention entered into by India with any other country or countries, any decision made at any international conference, association or other body, before its implementation shall be ratified by each House of Parliament within one hundred twenty days of the signing of such treaty, agreement or convention or decision.

After considering all aspects of the Bill, the Committee recommend that the member may be permitted to move for leave to introduce the Bill.

(2) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2009 (Insertion of new article 75A) by Shri L. Rajagopal, M.P.

The Bill seeks to amend the Constitution with a view to provide that the House of the People shall express its lack of confidence in the Prime Minister and his Council of Ministers only by electing his successor through a composite motion supported by a majority of the total members of the House and presenting an address to that effect to the President, who shall then appoint the person so elected as the new Prime Minister. The notice for such a motion shall be given by not less than one-fifth of the total membership of the House of the People.

After considering all aspects of the Bill, the Committee recommend that the member **may not be permitted** to move for leave to introduce the Bill.

 (3) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2009 (<u>Amendment of article 243A</u>) by Dr. Raghuvansh Prasad Singh, M.P.

The Bill seeks to amend article 243A of the Constitution with a view to provide –

(i) that a Gram Sabha shall hold atleast four sittings in a year at such time and place as it may determine but three months shall not intervene between its two consecutive sittings;

(ii) that a Gram Sabha shall *suo motu* disseminate information about the schemes and programmes of the Government which are to be implemented by the Gram Sabha, so that people can effectively monitor the functioning of the Gram Sabha.

After considering all aspects of the Bill, the Committee recommend that the member may be permitted to move for leave to introduce the Bill.

Allocation of time to Resolutions

4. The Committee recommend allocation of time to three resolutions as follows :-

(i)	Resolution by Rajkumari Ratna Singh regarding special economic development package for the eastern districts of the State of Uttar Pradesh.	-	2 hours
(ii)	Resolution by Shri Kaushalendra Kumar regarding implementation of the recommendations of the National Commission on Farmers.	-	2 hours
(iii)	Resolution by Shri Yashbant Narayan Sing Laguri regarding steps to ensure participation of tribals in the development of tribal regions.	-	2 hours

Recommendations

- 5. The Committee recommend that
 - Shri Prabodh Panda and Dr. Raghuvansh Prasad Singh be permitted to move for leave to introduce their Constitution (Amendment) Bills specified in sub-paras (1) and (3), respectively, of paragraph 3 above;
 - (ii) Shri L. Rajagopal may not be permitted to move for leave to introduce his Constitution (Amendment) Bill specified in sub-para (2), of paragraph 3 above; and
 - (iii) the allocation of time to resolutions, as shown in paragraph 4 above, be agreed to by the House.

NEW DELHI;

7 December, 2009

-----16 Agrahayana, 1931 (Saka)

PRABODH PANDA,

Acting Chairman, Committee on Private Members' Bills and Resolutions.