COMMITTEE ON PRIVATE MEMBERS' BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

(Fifteenth Lok Sabha)

FIFTEENTH REPORT

(Presented on 9.3.2011)

I, the Chairman of the Committee on Private Members' Bills and Resolutions, having been authorised by the Committee to present the Report on their behalf, present this Fifteenth Report.

- 2. The Committee met on 8 March, 2011 for -
 - I. Examination of the two Constitution (Amendment) Bills under rule 294(1)(a) of the Rules of Procedure.
 - II. Classification and allocation of time for discussion of Bills under clauses (b) and (c) of Rule 294(1) of the Rules of Procedure.

Examination of Constitution (Amendment) Bills

- 3. The Committee examined the following two Constitution (Amendment) Bills:-
 - (1) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2011 (Amendment of article 72) by Dr. Kirit Premjibhai Solanki, M.P.

The Bill seeks to amend article 72 of the Constitution with a view to provide that the power conferred on the President to grant pardons, reprieves, respites or remission of punishment or to suspend, remit or commute the sentence of any person convicted of any offence relating to sedition or waging war against the State or terrorist activities in any part of the country, shall be exercised by the President, within a period of one year from the date of receipt of the mercy petition.

After considering all aspects of the Bill, the Committee recommend that the member may not be permitted to move for leave to introduce the Bill.

(2) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2011 (Amendment of articles 81 and 170) by Shri L. Rajagopal, M.P.

The Bill seeks to amend articles 81 and 170 of the Constitution with a view to provide that –

(i) only the National Parties recognized by the Election Commission shall contest elections to the House of the People; and

(ii) only the Regional Parties shall contest elections to the Legislative

Assemblies of States.

After considering all aspects of the Bill, the Committee recommend that the member

may not be permitted to move for leave to introduce the Bill.

Classification and allocation of time to Bills

4. The Committee considered classification and allocation of time in respect of thirty-one Bills as

shown in Appendices.

5. After considering all aspects of the Bills, the Committee recommend that fourteen Bills shown

in Appendix-I be placed in category 'A'. The Committee further recommend that the remaining

seventeen Bills shown in Appendix-II be placed in category 'B'. The Committee also recommend

allocation of time for each of the Bills as shown in column 5 of the Appendices I and II, respectively.

Recommendations

6. The Committee recommend that –

(i) Dr. Kirit Premjibhai Solanki and Shri L. Rajagopal may not be permitted to move for

leave to introduce their Constitution (Amendment) Bills specified in sub-paras (1) and

(2), respectively, of paragraph 3 above;

(ii) the classification and allocation of time to thirty-one Bills by the Committee, as shown in

the Appendices, be agreed to by the House.

NEW DELHI;

KARIYA MUNDA

Chairman,

8 March, 2011

Committee on Private Members'
Bills and Resolutions.

17 Phalguna, 1932 (Saka)

APPENDIX-I

(See para 5 of the Report) (List of Bills placed in category `A' and allocation of time)

Sl. No.	Title of the Bill and member-in-charge	Bill No.	Category recommended	Time recommended
1	2	3	4	5
1.	The Banking Laws (Amendment) Bill, 2010 by Shri Asaduddin Owaisi, M.P.	60 of 2010	A	2 hours
2.	The Scheduled Tribes and Other Traditional Forest Dwellers (Recognition of Forest Rights) Amendment Bill, 2010 (Amendment of section 2) by Shri L. Rajagopal, M.P.	101 of 201	0 A	2 hours
3.	The Securitisation and Reconstruction of Financial Assets and Enforcement of Security Interest (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (Amendment of section 14) by Adv. P.T. Thomas, M.P.	98 of 2010	A	2 hours
4.	The Agricultural Workers Welfare Bill, 2010 by Shri A.T. Nana Patil, M.P.	104 of 201	10 A	2 hours
5.	The Railways (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Insertion of new chapter XIIIA</u>) by Shri A.T. Nana Patil, M.P.	105 of 201	0 A	2 hours
6.	The Commission for Fixation of Prices of Essential Commodities Bill, 2010 by Dr. Raghuvansh Prasad Singh, M.P.	122 of 201	0 A	2 hours
7.	The Technical Educational Institutions, Medical Educational Institutions and Universities (Regulation of Fee) Bill, 2010 by Adv. P.T. Thomas, M.P.	120 of 201	0 A	2 hours
8.	The Constitution (Scheduled Castes) Order (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (Amendment of the Schedule) by Adv. P.T. Thomas, M.P.	113 of 201	0 A	2 hours
9.	The Provision of Social Security to Senior Citizens Bill, 2010 by Shri J.P. Agarwal, M.P.	115 of 201	0 A	2 hours
10.	The Treatment of Attempt to Suicide as a Non-Punishable Offence Bill, 2010 by Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, M.P.	119 of 201	0 A	2 hours

1	2	3	4	5
11.	The Eradication of Unemployment Amongst the Youth Belonging to the Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes Bill, 2010 by Dr. Kirit Premjibhai Solanki, M.P.	145 of 2010	A	2 hours
12.	The Food Safety and Standards (Amendment) Bill, 2011 (<u>Insertion of new section 19A</u>) by Shri Haribhau Jawale, M.P.	5 of 2011	A	2 hours
13.	The Public Employment (Recruitment) Bill, 2011 by Shrimati Bijoya Chakravarty, M.P.	3 of 2011	A	2 hours
14.	The Micro Finance Institutions (Regulation of Money Lending) Bill, 2010 by Shri P.L. Punia, M.P.	147 of 2010	A	2 hours

APPENDIX-II

(See para 5 of the Report) (List of Bills placed in category `B' and allocation of time)

Sl. No.	Title of the Bill and member-in-charge	Bill No.	Category recommended	Time recommended
1	2	3	4	5
1.	The High Court at Allahabad (Establishment of a Permanent Bench at Gorakhpur) Bill, 2010 by Shri Yogi Adityanath, M.P.	46 of 2010	В	2 hours
2.	The Commissions of Inquiry (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (Amendment of section 3) by Dr. Kirit Premjibhai Solanki, M.P.	99 of 2010	В	2 hours
3.	The Commission of Sati (Prevention) Amendment Bill, 2010 (<u>Amendment of section 2, etc.</u>) by Shri L. Rajagopal, M.P.	100 of 201	0 B	2 hours
4.	The Cow (Protection) Bill, 2010 by Shri Chandrakant Khaire, M.P.	106 of 201	0 B	2 hours
5.	The Post-Polio Syndrome (Education, Training and Awareness) Bill, 2010 by Shri Balkrishna Khanderao Shukla, M.P.	112 of 201	0 В	2 hours
6.	The Representation of the People (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (Insertion of new section 29AA) by Shri J.P. Agarwal, M.P.	114 of 201	0 В	2 hours
7.	The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (Amendment of article 19) by Shri J.P. Agarwal, M.P.	116 of 201	0 B	2 hours
8.	The Indian Penal Code (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (Amendment of section 304A, etc.) by Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, M.P.	117 of 201	0 В	2 hours
9.	The Closed Textile Mills Workers (Welfare and Rehabilitation) Bill, 2010 by Dr. Kirit Premjibhai Solanki, M.P.	125 of 201	0 В	2 hours
10.	The Banana Growers (Protection and Welfare) Bill, 2010 by Shri A.T. Nana Patil, M.P.	133 of 201	0 В	2 hours

1	2	3	4	5
11.	The National Flood Control and Rehabilitation Authority Bill, 2010 by Shri A.T. Nana Patil, M.P.	137 of 2010	В	2 hours
12.	The Coffee Growers Welfare Bill, 2010 by Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, M.P.	126 of 2010	В	2 hours
13.	The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (Insertion of new Part IIIA, etc.) by Shri Manish Tewari, M.P.	140 of 2010	В	2 hours
14.	The Prohibition on Religious Conversion Bill, 2011 by Shrimati Bijoya Chakravarty, M.P.	1 of 2011	В	2 hours
15.	The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (Insertion of new article 30A) by Shri P.L. Punia, M.P.	129 of 2010	В	2 hours
16.	The Renewable Energy Resources Commission Bill, 2010 by Shri P.L. Punia, M.P.	142 of 2010	В	2 hours
17.	The Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes (Prevention of Atrocities) Amendment Bill, 2010 (Amendment of section 3, etc.) by Shri P.L. Punia, M.P.	141 of 2010	В	2 hours
