COMMITTEE ON PRIVATE MEMBERS' BILLS AND RESOLUTIONS

(Fifteenth Lok Sabha)

TENTH REPORT

(Presented on 24.11.2010)

I, the Chairman of the Committee on Private Members' Bills and Resolutions, having been authorised by the Committee to present the Report on their behalf, present this Tenth Report.

- 2. The Committee met on 9 November, 2010 for -
 - I. Examination of three Constitution (Amendment) Bills under rule 294(1) (a) of the Rules of Procedure.
 - II. Classification and allocation of time for discussion of Bills under clauses (b) and (c) of Rule 294 (1) of the Rules of Procedure.

Examination of the Constitution (Amendment) Bills

- 3. The Committee examined the following three Constitution (Amendment) Bills:-
 - The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010
 (Amendment of the Eighth Schedule)
 by Shri D.V. Sadananda Gowda, M.P.

The Bill seeks to amend the Eighth Schedule to the Constitution with a view to include 'Tulu' language, in the Schedule.

After considering all aspects of the Bill, the Committee recommend that the member may be permitted to move for leave to introduce the Bill.

(2) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Amendment of Seventh Schedule</u>) by Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, M.P. The Bill seeks to amend the Union and State List of the Seventh Schedule to the Constitution with a view to enable the Central Government to raise a separate central force to deal with the problems relating to internal security.

After considering all aspects of the Bill, the Committee recommend that the member **may not be permitted** to move for leave to introduce the Bill.

(3) The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010(<u>Amendment of article 19</u>)by Shri J.P. Agarwal, M.P.

The Bill seeks to amend article 19 of the Constitution with a view to empower the State to impose reasonable restrictions in the interest of secularism on the fundamental right to form association or union.

After considering all aspects of the Bill, the Committee recommend that the member may be permitted to move for leave to introduce the Bill.

Classification and allocation of time to Bills

4. The Committee considered classification and allocation of time in respect of twentyfour Bills as shown in the Appendices.

5. After considering all aspects of the Bills, the Committee recommend that thirteen Bills shown in Appendix-I be placed in category `A'. The Committee further recommend that the remaining eleven Bills shown in Appendix–II be placed in category `B'. The Committee also recommend allocation of time for each of the Bills as shown in column 5 of the Appendices I & II, respectively.

....3/-

Recommendations

- 6. The Committee recommend that-
 - Sarvashri D.V. Sadananda Gowda and J.P. Agarwal be permitted to move for leave to introduce their Constitution (Amendment) Bills specified in sub-paras (1) and (3), respectively, of paragraph 3 above;
 - (ii) Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury may not be permitted to move for leave to introduce his Constitution (Amendment) Bill specified in sub-para (2), of paragraph 3 above; and
 - (iii) the classification and allocation of time to twenty-four Bills by the Committee, as shown in the Appendices, be agreed to by the House.

Sd/-

NEW DELHI;

9 November, 2010

18 Kartika, 1932 (Saka)

(KARIYA MUNDA) Chairman, Committee on Private Members' Bills and Resolutions.

APPENDIX-I

(See para 5 of the Report) (List of Bills placed in category `A' and allocation of time)

Sl. No.	Title of the Bill and member-in-charge	Bill No.	0)		Time recommended	
1	2	3		4	5	
1.	The High Court of Tripura Bill, 2010 by Shri Khagen Das, M.P.	30 of 2	30 of 2010		2 hours	
2.	The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Amendment of the Eighth Schedule</u>) by Shri J.P. Agarwal, M.P.	63 of 2	63 of 2010 'A'		2 hours	
3.	The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Substitution of new article for article 48A</u>) by Shri J.P. Agarwal, M.P.	64 of 2	64 of 2010		2 hours	
4.	The Constitution (Scheduled Castes) Order (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Amendment of the</u> <u>Schedule</u>) by Dr. Raghuvansh Prasad Singh, M.P.	65 of 2010		ʻA'	2 hours	
5.	The Consumer Protection (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Amendment of section 2, etc.</u>) by Shri Anandrao Vithoba Adsul, M.P.	70 of 2010		ʻA'	2 hours	
6.	The Cinematograph (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Amendment of section 2, etc.</u>) by Shri Anandrao Vithoba Adsul, M.P.	71 of 2	71 of 2010		2 hours	
7.	The Palliative Care (Education and Training) Bill, 2010 by Shri Om Prakash Yadav, M.P.	67 of 2	67 of 2010		2 hours	
8.	The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Insertion of new article 45A</u>) by Shri Om Prakash Yadav, M.P.	68 of 2010 'A'		'A'	2 hours	
9.	The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Insertion of new article 279A)</u> by Shri Om Prakash Yadav, M.P.	69 of 2	69 of 2010 'A		2 hours	
10.	The Central Bureau of Investigation Bill, 2010 by Shri Manish Tewari, M.P.	92 of 2	2010	ʻA'	2 hours	

1	2	3	4	5
11.	The Economically Weaker Class (Provision of Certain Facilities) Bill, 2010 by Shri Satpal Maharaj, M.P.	81 of 2010	ʻA'	2 hours
12.	The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Amendment of the Eighth Schedule</u>) by Shri Satpal Maharaj, M.P.	76 of 2010	ʻA'	2 hours
13.	The Representation of the People (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Insertion of new section 32A, etc.</u>) by Shrimati Maneka Gandhi, M.P.	87 of 2010	ʻA'	2 hours

APPENDIX-II

(See para 5 of the Report) (List of Bills placed in category `B' and allocation of time)

Sl. No.	Title of the Bill and member-in-charge	BillCategNo.recom		ory mended	Time recommended
1	2	3		4	5
1.	The Flood Control Bill, 2009 by Shri G.S. Basavaraj, M.P.	125 of	125 of 2009		2 hours
2.	The Sculptors, Artists and Artisans of Rural Areas Welfare Bill, 2009 by Shri G.S. Basavaraj, M.P.	123 of 2009		ʻB'	2 hours
3.	The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Insertion of new article 16A</u>) by Dr. Sanjeev Ganesh Naik, M.P.	34 of 2010		ʻB'	2 hours
4.	The Representation of the People (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Insertion of new section 29AA</u>) by Shri J.P. Agarwal, M.P.	72 of 2010		ʻB'	2 hours
5.	The Constitution (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (<u>Amendment of article 117, etc.)</u> by Shri Anandrao Vithoba Adsul, M.P.	66 of 2010		'В'	2 hours
6.	The Mahatma Gandhi National Rural Employment Guarantee (Amendment) Bill, 2010 (Amendment of section 6) by Shri Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, M.P.	78 of 2010		ʻB'	2 hours
7.	The Displaced Farmers (Rehabilitation and Other Facilities) Bill, 2010 by Shri Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, M.P.	79 of 2010		'B'	2 hours
8.	The Anganwadi Workers (Regularisation of Service and Other Benefits) Bill, 2010 by Shri Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, M.P.	80 of 2010		ʻB'	2 hours
9.	The Commission for the Formation of the State of Vidarbha Bill, 2010 by Shri Hansraj Gangaram Ahir, M.P.	91 of 2010		ʻB'	2 hours

1	2	3	4	5
10.	The High Court at Calcutta (Establishment of a Permanent Bench at Murshidabad) Bill, 2010 by Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, M.P.	82 of 2010	ʻB'	2 hours
11.	The Special Financial Assistance to the State of West Bengal Bill, 2010 by Shri Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury, M.P.	83 of 2010	'В'	2 hours