GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COAL LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1261
ANSWERED ON:13.08.2013
ALLOCATION OF NEW COAL BLOCKS.
Hegde Shri Anant Kumar;Singh Shri Rajiv Ranjan (Lalan);Yadav Shri Dinesh Chandra

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has allocated 14 coal blocks to power generating companies after the year 2009;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (c) whether such power generating companies which have completed the construction of their power generation projects, but are not able to use their installed power generating capacity due to shortage of coal have been accorded priority in the said allocation of coal blocks; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof along with the names of such companies?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COAL (SHRI PRATIK PRAKASHBAPU PATIL)

- (a) & (b): Under the amended provisions of the Mines and Minerals(Development and Regulation) Act, 1957 and the rules thereunder, Government of India has recently allocated 14 regionally explored coal blocks to State and Central Government Companies engaged in power generation. Details of allocation of these 14 coal blocks are as follows:
- S1.No. Coal Block Proposed Applicant Proposed Govt. Proposed allocated State/ CPSU Company Coal Reserves(MT)
- 1 Tentuloi Odisha Odisha Thermal 1234.00 Power Corp. Ltd.
- 2 Bhalumuda NTPC NTPC Ltd. 550.00
- 3 Banai NTPC NTPC Ltd. 629.00
- 4 Chandrabila NTPC NTPC Ltd. 550.00
- 5 Kudanali-Luburi NTPC NTPC Ltd. 266.00 Jammu & Kashmir J&K State Power 130.00 Dev. Corp. Ltd.
- 6 Baisi Chhattisgarh Chhattisgarh State 150.00 Power Gen. Co. Ltd.
- 7 Pachwara-South NLC Neyveli U.P.Power 279.00 Ltd./Ghatampur
- 8 Jilga-Barpali NLC NLC/Sirkali 396.00 (Tamil Nadu)

Chhattisgarh Chhattisgarh State 150.00 Power Gen. Co. Ltd.

- 9 Sarapal-Nuapara Andhra Pradesh APGENCO 701.00
- 10 KenteExtn. Rajasthan Rajasthan Vidyut 200.00 Utpadan Nigam
- 11 Mahajanvadi Maharashtra MAHAGENCO 170.00 Gujarat GSECL 170.00
- 12 Gondbahera Ujheni Madhya Pradesh MPPGCL 532.00
- 13 Deocha-Pachami Karnataka Karnataka Power 382.00
 Corp. Ltd.
 West Bengal The West Bengal 584.00
 Power Dev. Corp.
 Bihar BSPGCL (Pirpainti 486.00
 /Lakhisarai) SJVN
 Ltd./ BUXAR
 Punjab Punjab State Power 229.00
 Corp. Ltd.
 Tamil Nadu Tamil Nadu Generation 171.00
 & Dist. Corp Ltd.
 Uttar Pradesh UPRVUNL 250.00
- 14 Kalyanpur Haryana HPGCL 51.00 -Badalpara Uttar Pradesh UPRVUNL 51.00
- (c) & (d): The Government has notified the 'Auction by Competitive Bidding of Coal Mine Rules, 2012' on 2nd February, 2012 and 'Auction by Competitive Bidding of Coal Mine (Amendment) Rules, 2012 on 27th December, 2012. Accordingly, Notice Inviting Applications was floated on 31st December, 2012 for the above mentioned 14 coal blocks under Rule 4 of the 'Auction by Competitive Bidding of Coal Mine Rules, 2012' and the power generating companies have been allocated the above coal blocks as per the prescribed pre-determined evaluation criteria and in consultation with the concerned State Governments and Central Ministries.