## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1987
ANSWERED ON:19.08.2013
COMPENSATION FOR FOREST LAND
Adhalrao Patil Shri Shivaji;Adsul Shri Anandrao Vithoba;Dharmshi Shri Babar Gajanan;Yadav Shri Dharmendra;Yaskhi Shri Madhu Goud

## Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has any proposal to increase the compensation for forest land acquired for various projects in the country, and if so, the details thereof;
- (b) whether the Government has also any proposal to revise the rates at which the Net Present Value (NPV) of such forest land is calculated:
- (c) if so, the details thereof and the steps taken by the Government in this regard;
- (d) whether the Government has sought opinion of all stakeholders on the Indian Institute of Forest Management Report and the proposed NPV revision and if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) the steps taken/being taken by the Government in this regard?

## **Answer**

## MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS (SHRIMATI JAYANTHI NATARAJAN)

(a) to (e) The Hon'ble Supreme Court of India in their Order dated 28th March 2008 in Writ Petition (Civil) No. 202/1995 in the matter of T.N. Godavarman Thirumulpad versus Union of India and others fixed the rates of Net Present Value (NPV) to be realised for forests of different class /category diverted for non-forest purpose. The Hon'ble Supreme Court in their said Order further directed that NPV rate fixed would hold good for a period of three years and subject to variation after three years.

Accordingly, Ministry of Environment and Forests (MoEF) assigned a study to the Indian Institute of Forest Management (IIFM), Bhopal to submit a report on revision of the rates of NPV applicable for different class/category of forests.

The copy of Report received from the IIFM, Bhopal has been placed on website of the MoEF for comments of stakeholders. A copy of the Report has also been sent to all State/Union Territory Governments, Ministries of Mines, Coal, Steel, Power, Road Transport and Highways, Rural Development, Agriculture, Water Resources and Planning Commission for their comments.