GOVERNMENT OF INDIA STEEL **LOK SABHA**

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2380 ANSWERED ON:03.12.2009 COAL AND IRON ORE MINES OWNED BY SAIL Vardhan Shri Harsh

Will the Minister of STEEL be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of coal and iron ore mines owned by the Steel Authority of India Ltd. (SAIL) in the country, location-wise;
- (b) the number and names of mines out of them in which the mining for coal and iron ore is not being carried out at present; and
- (c) the reasons therefor and the remedial measures being taken by the Government in this regard?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF STEEL (SHRI A. SAI PRATHAP)

(a) The details of coal and iron iron ore mines owned by Steel Authority of India Limited (SAIL) are given below location-wise:

Jharkhand Chhattisgarh Orissa West Bengal

```
Coal mines 1. Chasnalla - - 1. Ramnagore
```

- 2. Jitpur
- 3. Tasra
- 4. Sitanala

```
Iron ore mines 1.Kiriburu 1.Rajhara 1.Bolani -
2.Meghahataburu 2.Dalli 2.Bursua
3.Gua(4 leases) 3.Rowghat 3.Kalta
4.Chiria(6 leases)
```

(b)&(c): Presently, mining operations at Tasra, Sitanala and Rowghat is not being carried out as these mines are under development. In respect of the Chiria iron ore mine comprising six leases (i.e. Ajithaburu, Budhaburu, Sukri-Latur, Ankua, Dhobil and Tatiburu) mining operations are continued only at Dhobil location. Operations are not continuing in other locations for want of renewal of forest clearance (Budhaburu, Ajithaburu and Sukri-Latur) and non-exploration (Ankua and Tatiburu). Apart from that, renewal of Ajithaburu, Sukri-Latur and Tatiburu are under dispute. Vigorous efforts are also being made with the State Government at appropriate levels in the Government of India to resolve the impediments.