GOVERNMENT OF INDIA LAW AND JUSTICE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5861 ANSWERED ON:02.05.2013 BENCHES OF HIGH COURTS Meinya Dr. Thokchom;Sugavanam Shri E.G.

Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether there is any proposal to set up High Court for every State;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor;
- (c) the number of Judges appointed to the recently set-up High Courts of Manipur and Tripura respectively;
- (d) whether there is any criteria for deciding the number of Judges for a High Court; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE (DR. ASHWANI KUMAR)

(a) & (b): Article 214 of the Constitution provides that there shall be a High Court for each State. There are currently 28 States in the country and 24 High Courts, details of which are given at Annex. As may be seen, States of Punjab and Haryana have a common High Court at Chandigarh while Bombay High Court has jurisdiction over the States of Maharashtra and Goa.

Three North-Eastern States, namely, Arunachal Pradesh, Mizoram and Nagaland do not have a High Court because infrastructure for High Courts is not ready.

(c) to (e): Against the sanctioned strength of 04 Permanent Judges (including Chief Justice) each for both the High Courts of Manipur and Tripura, 01 Permanent Judge and Chief Justice have been appointed in Manipur High Court and 03 Permanent Judges and Chief Justice have been appointed in the High Court of Tripura.

The strength of Judges for the High Courts of Manipur and Tripura has been determined by the Government in consultation with the Supreme Court of India. While determining the Judges strength for these High Courts, factors such as, statistical data of institution, disposal and pendency of cases in the erstwhile Benches of Gauhati High Court at Manipur and Tripura, have been duly considered.

Annex

Annex referred to in reply to part (a) & (b) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.5861 to be answered on 02.05.2013 NAME OF HIGH COURTS, THEIR PRINCIPAL SEATS, BENCHES AND THEIR JURISDICTION

```
Seat

1 Allahabad Allahabad Uttar Pradesh

2 Andhra Pradesh Hyderabad Andhra Pradesh

3 Bombay Mumbai Maharashtra; Goa;
Daman & Diu; Dadra
& Nagar Haveli;

4 Calcutta Kolkata West Bengal & Andaman
& Nicobar Islands

5 Chattisgarh Bilaspur Chattisgarh

6 Delhi New Delhi NCT of Delhi

7 Gauhati Guwahati Assam, Nagaland,
Mizoram, & Arunachal
```

Sl.No. High Court Principal Jurisdiction

Pradesh.

- 8 Gujarat Sola(Ahmedabad) Gujarat 9 Himachal Pradesh Shimla Himachal Pradesh
- 10 Jammu & Kashmir Jammu & Srinagar Jammu & Kashmir
- 11 Jharkhand Ranchi Jharkhand 12 Karnataka Bangalore Karnataka
- 13 Kerala Kochi Kerala & Lakshadweep Islands
- 14 Madhya Pradesh Jabalpur Madhya Pradesh
- 15 Madras Chennai Tamil Nadu & Pondicherry 16 Orissa Cuttack Orissa
- 17 Patna Patna Bihar
- 18 Punjab & Haryana Chandigarh Punjab, Haryana & Chandigarh
- 19 Rajasthan Jodhpur Rajasthan 20 Sikkim Gangto Sikkim
- 21 Uttarakhand Nainital Uttarakhand
- 22 Manipur Imphal Manipur
- 23 Meghalaya Shillong Meghalaya
- 24 Tripura Agartala Tripura