# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA LAW AND JUSTICE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2918 ANSWERED ON:14.03.2013 CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICERS Agarwal Shri Jai Prakash

### Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the States which has not appointed any person as Chief Electoral Officer in their respective States, as on date;
- (b) whether the Election Commission has directed the Chief Secretaries of those States to appear before the Commission which have not appointed Chief Electoral Officer during the last three years till date;
- (c) if so, the details thereof, State/UT-wise;
- (d) the instruction issued by the Election Commission to the State Governments to fill up the post of Chief Electoral Officer;
- (e) whether these instructions are being complied with by the State Governments; and
- (f) if so, the details thereof?

## Answer

### MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE (DR. ASHWANI KUMAR)

- (a) The Chief Electoral Officers have been nominated/designated in all the States/Union territories.
- (b) and (c) Do not arise.
- (d) The Election Commission of India, in exercise of the powers conferred under sub-section (1) of section 13A of the Representation of the People Act, 1950 (43 of 1950) designate or nominate Chief Electoral Officer for each State/Union territory.
- (e) Yes, Madam.
- (f) A list containing the names of the Chief Electoral Officers of States and Union territories, as provided by the Election Commission of India, is attached as Annexure.

#### **ANNEXURE**

Annexure to in reply to part (f) of the Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No. 2918 for answering on the 14th March, 2013.

LIST OF CHIEF ELECTORAL OFFICERS OF ALL THE STATES AND UTs (As on 8.3.2013)

Sl.No. State Name of CEO

- 1 ANDHRA PRADESH Sh. Bhanwar Lal, IAS
- 2. ARUNACHAL PRADESH Sh. Chandra Bhushan, IAS

- 3. ASSAM Sh. Vijayendra, IAS
- 4. BIHAR Sh. Sudhir Kr. Rakesh, IAS
- 5. CHHATTISGARH Sh. Sunil Kumar Kujur, IAS
- 6. GOA Sh. Keshav Chandra, IAS
- 7. GUJARAT Smt. Anita Karwal, IAS
- 8. HARYANA Sh. Shrikant Walgad, IAS
- 9. HIMACHAL PRADESH Sh. Narinder Chauhan, IAS
- 10. JAMMU & KASHMIR Sh. Umang Narulla, IAS
- 11. JHARKHAND Sh. P.K. Jajoria, IAS
- 12. KARNATAKA Sh. Anil Kumar Jha, IAS
- 13. KERALA Smt. Nalini Natto, IAS
- 14. MADHYA PRADESH Sh. Jaideep Govind, IAS
- 15. MAHARASHTRA Sh. Nitin Ramchandra Gadre, IAS
- 16. MANIPUR Sh. Oinam Nabakishore Singh, IAS

- 17. MEGHALAYA Sh. Prashant Naik, IAS
- 18. MIZORAM Sh. Ashwani Kumar, IAS
- 19. NAGALAND Sh. Jane-E-Alam, IAS
- 20. ORISSA Dr.(Mrs.) Mona Sharma, IAS
- 21. PUNJAB Ms. Kusumjit Sidhu, IAS
- 22. RAJASTHAN Sh. Ashok Jain, IAS
- 23. SIKKIM Sh. K.T. Chankapa, IAS
- 24. TAMIL NADU Sh. Praveen Kumar, IAS
- 25. TRIPURA Sh. Ashutosh Jindal, IAS
- 26. UTTAR PRADESH Sh. Umesh Sinha, IAS
- 27. UTTARAKHAND Smt. Radha Raturi, IAS
- 28. WEST BENGAL Sh. Sunil Kumar Gupta, IAS
- 29. ANDAMAN & NICOBAR ISLAND Sh. Jalaj Shrivastava, IAS
- 30. CHANDIGARH Sh. Anil Kumar, IAS

- 31. DADRA NAGAR HAVELI Sh. Gyanesh Bharti, IAS
- 32. DAMAN & DIU Sh. Gyanesh Bharti, IAS
- 33. NCT OF DELHI Sh. Vijay Kumar Dev, IAS
- 34. LAKSHADWEEP Dr. N. Vasantha Kumar, IAS
- 35. PONDICHERRY Sh. T. Sreekant, IAS

Notification of Shri Chandra Bhushan as Chief Electoral Officer, Arunachal Pradesh has been issued by the Commission on 8.3.2013, but he did not take charge of his post as on date.