GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2321 ANSWERED ON:03.12.2009 FREE RAILWAY PASSES Ahir Shri Hansraj Gangaram;Baske Shri Pulin Bihar;Patel Shri R.K. Singh

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) the criteria laid down to issue free railway passes for various categories;

(b) the details of free railway passes issued during each of the last three years and the current year category-wise;

(c) whether the Railways have renewed the free railway passes issued previously during each of the last three years and the current year;

(d) if so, the details of the people and institutions whose passes have been renewed alongwith the reasons therefor;

(e) whether the Railways are proposing to extend these facilities to categories such as people living below poverty line and other backward classes, students etc; and

(f) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI K.H. MUNIYAPPA)

(a): A statement is attached.

(b)to(d): Information is being collected and will be laid on the Table of the Sabha.

(e) and (f): There is no such proposal at present.

STATEMENT REFFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2321 BY SHRI PULIN BIHARI BASKE, SHRI R.K. SINGH PATEL & SHRI HANSRAJ G. AHIR TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 03-12-2009 REGARDING FREE RAILWAY PASSES.

(a): Complimentary Card Passes to the following categories of persons are being issued as per the schemes announced from time to time by the Ministry of Railways:

1. Freedom Fighters (Cost borne by Ministry of Home Affairs).

- 2. Arjun Awardees/Olympic Medalists/Asian & Commonwealth Gold Medalists/ Dronacharya Awardees.
- 3. Winners of Param Veer Chakra, Maha Veer Chakra, Veer Chakra (Defence personnels)
- 4. Winners of Ashok Chakra, Shourya Chakra and Kirti Chakra. (Civilian awardees are not included)
- 5. Winners of President's Police Medal For Gallantry and Police Medal for Gallantry (Police Personnels).

6. Non-official Members of Railway Hindi Salahkar Samiti.

7. One office bearer each of the four organization namely Kendriya Sachivalaya Hindi Parishad, Nagrik Pracharini Sabha Varanasi, Rashtrabhasha Prachar Samiti Wardha and Akhil Bharatiya Hindi Sansthan engaged in propogation of Hindi.

8. Ex-Minister of Railways/Minister of State for Railways/ Deputy Minister for Railways.

- 9. Bharat Ratna Awardees
- 10. Complimentary card passes under discretionary powers of Minister of Railways.