GOVERNMENT OF INDIA DEFENCE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2164 ANSWERED ON:11.03.2013 RESIGNATION BY DRDO SCIENTISTS Premajibhai Dr. Solanki Kiritbhai;Thamaraiselvan Shri R.

Will the Minister of DEFENCE be pleased to state:

(a) whether about 650 scientists have resigned from their posts in the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) during the last five years;

(b) if so, the year-wise and post-wise details thereof along with the reasons therefor;

(c) whether low emoluments in the DRDO are the reasons for their resignation; and

(d) if so, the corrective steps taken / proposed to be taken by the Government to retain them in the DRDO?

Answer

MINISTER OF DEFENCE (SHRI A.K. ANTONY)

(a) A total of 443 scientists have resigned from Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) during the last five years i.e. 2008-2012.

(b) Year-wise and post-wise details are given below:-

Post Year

2008 2009 2010 2011 2012

Scientist 'B' 83 41 38 58 46

Scientist 'C' 64 18 18 21 16

Scientist 'D' 9 2 2 5 4

Scientist 'E' 5 1 3 1 1

Scientist 'F' 1 3 2 1 -

(c) Scientists who had resigned have indicated their personal / domestic grounds as the reasons for leaving DRDO. However, it is assumed that increased opportunities / incentives available in other organizations / industries is the main reason of such resignations.

(d) The following incentives have been granted as corrective measures:-

Two additional increments on promotion to each Grade.

Up to six variable increments on promotions granted on fast track.

Professional Update Allowance to all scientists.

Opportunity to acquire higher qualifications at reputed institutes viz. IIT's/IISc, etc. as DRDO sponsored candidates.

Young Scientists, Scientist of the Year and other DRDO Awards in recognition of their contributions, etc.

Excellent infrastructure facilities have been created at work places and also at residential complexes.

Government is making all efforts to grant Performance Related Incentive Scheme (PRIS) to DRDO scientists at par with scientists of Department of Atomic Energy (DAE) and Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO).