# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:399 ANSWERED ON:23.11.2012 WIND ENERGY Jakhar Shri Badri Ram

2015-16 3250

2016-17 3500

### Will the Minister of NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY be pleased to state:

(a) the State-wise generation of power through wind energy at present in the country; (b) whether Union Government proposes to increase the generation of wind energy during 12th Five Year Plan; (c) if so, the details thereof; (d) whether Government has conducted any survey for identifying the areas for setting up wind energy projects in the country particularly in Rajasthan; and (e) if so, the details thereof? Answer MINISTER OF NEW AND RENEWABLE ENERGY (DR. FAROOQ ABDULLAH) (a): A total of 18275 MW wind power projects have been installed in the country. The state-wise break-up given at Annexure I (b): The Union Government has kept a target of 15000 MW from wind power for 12th Five Year Plan. (c): The year wise break-up is given below: Year Target (MW) 2012-13 2500 2013-14 2750 2014-15 3000

- (d): The Government has undertaken wind resource assessment for identifying the areas for setting up wind power projects through the Centre for Wind Energy Technology (C-WET), an autonomous institution of this Ministry.
- (e): A total of 685 wind monitoring stations have been established in 31 states so far. The state-wise list of no. of wind monitoring stations in the country is given at Annexure II.

#### ANNEXURE-I

ANNEXURE-I REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (a) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 399 FOR 23.11.2012 ON "WIND ENERGY"

## STATE-WISE WIND POWER INSTALLATION

States Capacity (MW)
Andhra Pradesh 379
Gujarat 3087
Karnataka 2089
Kerala 35
Madhya Pradesh 377
Maharashtra 2,933
Rajasthan 2,220
Tamil Nadu 7,151
Others 4
Total 18,275
ANNEXURE-II

#### ANNEXURE-II

ANNEXURE-II REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PART (e) OF THE LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 399 FOR 23.11.2012 on "WIND ENERGY"

State-wise Wind Monitoring Stations

S1.No State/Union Territory No. of wind monitoring stations established

- 1 TAMIL NADU 70
- 2 GUJARAT 69
- 3 ORISSA 9
- 4 MAHARASHTRA 128
- 5 ANDHRA PRADESH 78
- 6 RAJASTHAN 36
- 7 LAKSHADWEEP 9
- 8 KARNATAKA 59
- 9 KERALA 29
- 10 CHATTISGARH 7
- 11 MADHYA PRADESH 37
- 12 ANDAMAN & NICOBAR ISLANDS 19
- 13 UTTARAKHAND 13
- 14 HIMACHAL PRADESH 6

15 WEST BENGAL 10

16 PONDICHERRY 4

17 PUNJAB 10

18 JAMMU & KASHMIR 24

19 HARYANA 6

20 JHARKHAND 3

21 UTTARPRADESH 11

22 GOA 4

23 BIHAR 5

24 ARUNACHAL PRADESH 6

25 ASSAM 6

26 TRIPURA 5

27 MANIPUR 8

28 MIZORAM 4

29 SIKKIM 4

30 NAGALAND 3

31 MEGHALAYA 3

Total 685