GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COAL LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4016 ANSWERED ON:18.12.2012 DELAY IN PRODUCTION OF COAL Sugumar Shri K. ;Venugopal Shri P.

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

(a) whether notices were issued to public sector companies for delay in production with regard to 33 coal blocks allocated to them;

(b) if so, the details thereof;

S.No. Name of Public Sector Company

(c) whether the CIL is yet to take a decision with regard to 13 coal mines allotted to public sector companies;

(d) if so, the details thereof along with the reasons therefor; and

(e) the time by which the decision thereon is likely to be taken?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COAL (SHRI PRATIK PRAKASHBAPU PATIL)

(a) & (b): The details of coal blocks allocated to public sector companies which were issued show cause notices based on the recommendations of the Review Committee meeting held in January, 2012 are as under:-

Name of coal block State

1 Mahanadi Coalfields Ltd. Utkal-A Gopal Prasad Odisha 2 Chhattisgarh Mineral Development Corporation Ltd Gare Pelma, Sector-I Chhattisgarh 3 Maharastra State Mining Corp. Ltd Gare Pelma Sector II Chhattisgarh Tamil Nadu State Electricity Board Gare Pelma Sector II Chhattisgarh 4 Chhattisgarh Mineral Development Corporation Ltd Shankarpur Bht II & Extn. Chhattisgarh 5 Jharkhand State Mineral Development Corporation Sugia Closed mine Jharkhand 6 Odisha Mining Corporation Utkal-D Odisha Utkal `E` Odisha 7 NALCO 8 Jharkhand State Mineral Development Corporation Rauta Closed mine Jharkhand 9 Jharkhand State Mineral Development Corporation Burakhap small patch Jharkhand 10 MMTC Gomia Jharkhand 11 Jharkhand State Mineral Development Corporation Pindra-Debipur-Khaowatand Jharkhand 12 Jharkhand State Mineral Development Corporation Latehar Jharkhand 13 Bihar Rajya Khanij Vikas Nigam Saria Koiyatand Jharkhand 14 Tenughat Vidyut Nigam Limited Rajbar E&D Jharkhand 15 Jharkhand State Electricity Board Urma Paharitola Jharkhand Bihar Rajya Khanij Vikas Nigam Urma Paharitola Jharkhand 16 Jharkhand State Mineral Development Corporation Patratu Jharkhand 17 Jharkhand State Mineral Development Corporation Rabodih OCP Jharkhand 18 Andhra Pradesh Power Generation Corpn. Ltd. Tadicherla-I Andhra Pradesh 19-20 Gujarat State Electricity Corp. Ltd. Mahanadi Machhakata Odisha Maharastra State Electricity Board Mahanadi Machhakata Odisha 21 Orissa Mining Corporation Nuagaon Telisahi Odisha Andhra Pradesh Mineral Development Nuagaon Telisahi Odisha 22-23 Uttar Pradesh Rajya Vidyut Utapadan Nigam Ltd. Chendipada, Chendipada-II Odisha Chhattisgarh Mineral Development Corp. Chendipada, Chendipada-II Odisha MAHAGENCO Chendipada, Chendipada-II Odisha 24 Kerala State Elec. Board Baitarni West Odisha Orissa Hydro Power Generation Corp. Baitarni West Odisha Gujarat Power Generation Corp Baitarni West Odisha 25 Assam Mineral Dev. Corp Mandakini B Odisha Meghalaya Mineral Dev. Corp Mandakini B Odisha Tamil Nadu State Electricity Board Mandakini B Odisha Odisha Mining Corporation Mandakini B Odisha 26 Gujarat Mineral Development Corp. Naini Odisha Pondicerry Investment PDICL Naini Odisha 27 West Bengal Mineral Dev. Trading. Corp. Ichhapur West Bengal 28 West Bengal Mineral Dev. Trading. Corp. Kulti West Bengal 29 West Bengal Mineral Dev. Trading. Corp. Jaganathpur A West Bengal

(c): No decision/action on the part of Coal India Limited was to be taken.

(d) & (e): Does not arise in view of reply given at (c) above.