GOVERNMENT OF INDIA EXTERNAL AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3165 ANSWERED ON:12.12.2012 PASSPORT SEVA KENDRAS

Adhi Sankar Shri ;Jeyadural Shri S. R.;Ju Dev Shri Dilip Singh;Maadam Shri Vikrambhai Arjanbhai;Semmalai Shri S.

Will the Minister of EXTERNAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the details of the Passport Seva Kendras (PSKs) in the country which have been made operational, location-wise during the last three years and the number of passports issued by them during the said period;
- (b) the time by which the remaining PSKs would be made operational, location-wise;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to open more Passport Offices and PSKs in the country particularly in the remote areas; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof, State-wise and the steps being taken by the Government to address the concerns of people living in remote areas of the country?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS (SHRIMATI PRENEET KAUR)

(a) & (b) All the 77 Passport Seva Kendras (PSKs) under the jurisdiction of 37 Passport Offices planned under the Passport Seva Project, have been operationalised. A list thereof is enclosed. The number of passports issued in the new system since 1-1-2010 is as follows:

```
2010 : 1,55,343 (No. of PSKs in operation - 7)

2011 : 8,10,684 (No. of PSKs in operation - 30)

1-1-2012 to 30-11-2012 : 37,40,208 (No. of PSKs in operation - 77)

Total no. of passports issued in the new system : 47,06,235.
```

- (c) & (d) There is no plan at present to open Passport Offices at any location. However, the Government proposes to open Passport Seva Laghu Kendras at the following locations including remote areas of the country:
- (i) Andhra Pradesh: Karimnagar and Bhimavaram, (ii) Arunachal Pradesh: Itanagar, (iii) Bihar: Darbhanga, (iv) Jammu & Kashmir: Leh, (v) Karnataka: Gulbarga, (vi) Meghalaya: Shillong, (vii) Mizoram: Aizawl, (viii) Manipur: Imphal, (ix) Nagaland: Kohima, (x) Sikkim: Gangtok, (xi) Tripura: Agartala, (xii) Union Territory of Puducherry, (xiii) West Bengal: Siliguri, Kharagpur & Kolkata (Branch Secretariat).