## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2889 ANSWERED ON:11.12.2012 CENSORSHIP OF FILMS Jaiswal Dr. Sanjay

## Will the Minister of INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING be pleased to state:

- (a) the manner in which censorship of films including regional films is being done in the country;
- (b) whether the Government proposes to set up separate film censor boards or regional offices of the Central Board of Film Certification (CBFC) for proper screening of regional films;
- (c) if so, the details thereof State-wise, and the time by which these boards/offices are likely to be set up; and
- (d) if not, the reasons therefor?

## **Answer**

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR THE MINISTRY OF INFORMATION AND BROADCASTING (SHRI MANISH TEWARI)

- (a): The certification of films including regional films is governed by the Cinematograph Act, 1952, the Cinematograph (Certification) Rules, 1983 and the guidelines issued by the Government of India under Section 5B(2) of the Cinematograph Act, 1952. After examination of the films, CBFC may (i) sanction the film for public exhibition; or (ii) direct the applicant to carry out such excisions or modifications in the film as it may think necessary before sanctioning the film for public exhibition; or (iii) refuse to sanction the film for public exhibition. Films sanctioned by CBFC for public exhibition are certified by them as:
- (i) "U", if the film is suitable for unrestricted public exhibition; or
- (ii) "UA", if the film is suitable for unrestricted public exhibition subject to parental guidance for children below the age of twelve; or
- (iii) "A", if the film is not suitable for unrestricted public exhibition, but is suitable for public exhibition restricted to adults; or
- (iv) "S", if the film is not suitable for unrestricted public exhibition, but is suitable for public exhibition restricted to members of any profession or any class of persons.
- (b) to (d): CBFC already has nine regional offices based at Mumbai, Bangalore, Calcutta, Chennai, Cuttack, Delhi, Guwahati, Hyderabad and Thiruvananthapuram. The First Schedule of the Cinematograph (Certification) Rules, 1983 defines the areas covered by these regional offices.