## LOK SABHA

Thursday, May 23, 1996/Jyaistha 2, 1918 (Saka)
(The Lok Sabha met at one minute past
Eleven of the Clock)

[The. Speaker Protem (Shri Indrajit Gupta) in the Chair]

[English]

## MEMBERS SWORN - CONTD.

MR. SPEAKER: The Secretary-General will call out names of the Members who have not yet taken the oath or made the affirmation.

Shrimati Sarada Tadiparthi (Tenali)

Shri Wangcha Rajkumar (Arunachal East)

Dr. Madan Prasad Jaiswal (Bettiah)

Shri Thomas Hansde (Rajmahal)

Shri Ramchandra Veerappa (Bidar)

Shri G. Mallikarjunappa (Davangere)

Shri K.H. Muniyappa (Kolar)

Shri Oscar Fernandes (Udupi)

Shri S. Bangarappa (Shimoga)

Kumari Uma Bharti (Khajuraho)

Shri Manaharan Lal Pandey (Janjgir)

Shri Mohan Vishnu Rawale (Mumbai South Central)

Shri Patel Praful Manoharbhai (Bhandara)

Shri Kartik Mohapatra (Balasore)

Shri Biju Patnaik (Aska)

Shri Girdhar Gamang (Koraput)

Shri Khagapati Pradhani (Nowrangpur)

Shri Mrutyunjaya Nayak (Phulbani)

Shri Kamakhya Prasad Singh Deo (Dhenkanal)

Maharani Divya Singh (Bharatpur)

Shri Shyamlal Banshiwal (Tonk)

Shri Bheru Lal Meena (Salumber)

Shri Nathuram Mirdha (Nagaur)

Shri A.M. Velu (Arakkonam)

Shri Manabendra Shah (Tehri Garhwal)

Dr. Shafiqur Rahman Barq (Moradabad)

Shrimati Maneka Gardhi (Pilibhit)

Shri Satya Deo Singh (Balrampur)

Shri Ajit Singh (Baghpur)

Shrimati Sandhya Bauri (Vishnupur)

Shri Punnulal Mohie (Bilaspur) Shri Chandrashekhar (Ballia)

MR. SPEAKER: Hon. Members, all the hon. Members present here have completed taking the oath or making an affirmation. If there are any Members who are still remaining because they were absent earlier, they can take the oath later on. Arrangements will be made for it.

11.34 hrs.

## RESIGNATION BY MEMBER

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: I have to inform the House that on 22 May, 1996 I have received a letter from Shri P.V. Narasimha Rao, an elected Member from Nandyal constituency of Andhra Pradesh and Berhampur constituency of Orissa, resigning his seat in Lok Sabha from Nandyal constituency of Andhra Pradesh. I have accepted his resignation with effect from 23 May. 1996.

11.35 hrs.

## **ELECTION OF SPEAKER**

[English]

MR. SPEAKER: So, now we can proceed to the next business. The next business is the election of the Speaker of the Lok Sabha. There are a number of motions which have been received and we shall take up these motions. I first call upon Shri Murasoli Maran to move the motion which is standing in his name.

SHRI MURASOLI MARAN (Madras Central) : Sir, I beg to move :

"That Shri Purno Agitok Sangma, a Member of this House be chosen as the Speaker of this House".

SHRI N.V.N. SOMU (Madras North) : Sir, I second the motion.

SHRI B.B. RAMAIAH (Eluru) : Sir, I beg to move:

"That Shri Purno Agitok Sangma, a Member of this House be chosen as the Speaker of this House".

SHRI UMMAREDDY VENKATESWARLU (Bapatla): Sir, I second the motion.

KUMARI MAMATA BANERJEE (Calcutta South) : Sir, I beg to move :

"That Shri Purno Agitok Sangma, a Member of this House be chosen as the Speaker of this House."