## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:102 ANSWERED ON:26.11.2009 MULTI-FUNCTIONAL COMPLEXES Venugopal Shri K. C.

## Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether IRCON International Ltd. and Rail Land Development Authority (RLDA) have since developed business models and action plan for construction of multi-functional complexes in the railway stations;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the names of the stations selected for the purpose in various States including Kerala; and
- (c) the details of the preliminary work started for this project?

## **Answer**

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS (KUMARI MAMATA BANERJEE) (a) to (c): A Statement is laid on the Table of the Sabha.

STATMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF STARRED QUESTION NO.102 BY SHRI K.C.VENUGOPAL TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 26.11.2009 REGARDING MULTI- FUNCTIONAL COMPLEXES.

(a) to (c): 66 Railway stations serving places of pilgrimage, industry and tourist interests have been identified for development of Multi Functional Complexes (MFCs) for providing rail users facilities like shopping, food stalls and restaurants, book stalls, PCO/STD/ISD/FAX booths, medicine and variety stores, budget hotels, underground parking, etc. List of stations, in the country including those in the State of Kerala, is enclosed as Appendix.

The work of construction of MFCs has been entrusted to IRCON and Rail Land Development Authority (RLDA) who have taken up the work in a phased manner.

Action Plan for development of business models, architectural and structural designs suiting local architecture and ethos, as well as construction programme has been formulated by IRCON and RLDA. Consultants have since been engaged by IRCON to develop business models.

APPENDIX REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (c) OF STARRED QUESTION NO.102 BY SHRI K.C. VENUGOPAL TO BE ANSWERED ON 26.11.2009 REGARDING MULTI-FUNCTIONAL COMPLEXES

SN List of Stations for Multi-functional Complexes

- 1 Alipurduar Jn.
- 2 Allahabad
- 3 Alleppey
- 4 Anandpur Sahib
- 5 Ayodhya
- 6 Banspani
- 7 Barddhaman
- 8 Bikaner
- 9 Bilaspur
- 10 Cuttack
- 11 Darjeeling
- 12 Dehradun
- 13 Digha
- 14 Durg
- 15 Ernakulam jn
- 16 Gandhidham
- 17 Gangasagar
- 18 Ghatsila 19 Guntur
- 20 Gwalior
- 21 Haldia
- 22 Haridwar
- 23 Hazur Sahib Nanded
- 24 Hubli

- 25 Hyderabad
- 26 Indore
- 27 Jabalpur 28 Jammu Tawi
- 29 Jasidih
- 30 Jhansi
- 31 Jodhpur
- 32 Kanniyakumari
- 33 Kannur
- 34 Kathgodam
- 35 Katra 36 Khajuraho
- 37 Kottayam
- 38 Kozhikkode
- 39 Kurukshetra
- 40 Madurai Junction
- 41 Manmad 42 Mysore Jn.
- 43 Nainital
- 44 Nasik Road
- 45 New Alipore
- 46 Palakkad Jn
- 47 Parasnath
- 48 Rae Bareli Jn.
- 49 Raipur 50 Rajahmundry
- 51 Rajgir
- 52 Rajkot 53 Rameswaram
- 54 Ranchi
- 55 Shirdi
- 56 Silchar
- 57 Siliguri
- 58 Talcher
- 59 Tarapith Rd. (Rampurhat) 60 Tiruchchirappalli Jn.
- 61 Tiruvalla
- 62 Trichur
- 63 Udaipur City
- 64 Ujjain
- 65 Vadodara
- 66 Visakhapatnam