GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:5 ANSWERED ON:22.11.2012 MODERNISATION/UPGRADATION OF RAILWAY STATIONS Rajendran Shri C.;Rajesh Shri M. B.

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether there is any scheme for modernisation/upgradation of railway stations in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) the funds allocated/spent on the modernisation/upgradation of railway stations particularly in the backward/rural areas in the country during the last three years and the current year, zone and year-wise;
- (d) the names of the stations upgraded/proposed to be upgraded in the States of Odisha and Jharkhand; and
- (e) the steps taken/being taken by the Railways to complete upgradation of the pending stations selected for the purpose within a stipulated time-frame?

Answer

MINISTER OF RAILWAYS (SHRI PAWAN KUMAR BANSAL)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF STARRED QUESTION NO. 5 BY SHRI C. RAJENDRAN AND SHRI M. B. RAJESH TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 22.11.2012 REGARDING MODERNISATION/UPGRADATION OF RAILWAY STATIONS.

- (a): Yes, Madam.
- (b): Upgradation of stations has been undertaken under various modernization schemes namely Model Station Scheme, Modern Station Scheme and Adarsh Station Scheme. The 'Model Station Scheme' (June, 1999 to November, 2008) and 'Modern Station Scheme' (2006-07 and 2007-08) have since been discontinued. At present, stations are upgraded under the 'Adarsh Station Scheme' which has been launched in the year 2009.
- (c): Station-wise details of funds allocated/spent are not maintained. The expenditure on such works is funded under Plan Head 'Passenger Amenities'. The allocation/expenditure under Plan Head 'Passenger Amenities' Railway Zone-wise during past three years and in the current year is appended.
- (d): The stations identified and station developed under Model, Modern and Adarsh Station schemes in the state of Odisha and Jharkhand are as under:

```
Odisha

Model Stations Badakhandita, Balasore, Balugaon, Brahampur, Bhadrak, Station identified Bhubaneswar, Byree, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Golanthra, Scheme under the Jajpur-Keonjhar Road, Jharsuguda, Kapilas Road, scheme Kesinga, Khurda Road, Puri, Rahama, Rayagada, (23) Rourkela, Sambalpur, Sambalpur Road, Surla Road and Titlagarh.

Stations Badakhandita, Balasore, Balugaon, Brahampur, already Bhadrak, Bhubaneswar, Byree, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, developed Golanthra, Jajpur-Keonjhar Road, Jharsuguda, under the Kapilas Road, Kesinga, Khurda Road, Puri, Rahama, scheme Rayagada, Rourkela, Sambalpur, Surla Road and Titlagarh. (22)
```

Modern Stations Balasore, Balugaon, Barbil, Bargarh Road, Bhadrak, Station identified Bhubaneswar, Bolangir, Brahmapur, Cuttack, Jajpur Keonjhar Road, Scheme under the Jaleswar, Jharsuguda, Kantabanji, Kesinga, Khurda Road, scheme Koraput, Khariar Road, Muniguda, Puri, Rajgangpur, (25) Rayagada, Rourkela, Sambalpur, Talcher and Titlagarh.

Stations Balasore, Balugaon, Barbil, Bargarh Road, Bhadrak, already Bhubaneswar, Bolangir, Brahmapur, Cuttack, Jajpur Keonjhar Road, developed Jaleswar, Jharsuguda, Kantabanji, Kesinga, Khurda Road, under the Koraput, Khariar Road, Muniguda, Puri, Rajgangpur, scheme Rayagada, Rourkela, Sambalpur, Talcher and Titlagarh. (25)

Adarsh Stations Angul, Bakhrabad, Balangir, Balasore, Balugaon, Banspani, Station identified Bargarh Road, Baripada, Belpahar, Bhadrak, Dhenkanal, Scheme under the Doikallu, Hijli, Jajpur-Keonjhar Road, Jakhopura, scheme Jaleswar, Jharsuguda, Kantabanji, Kesinga, Khariar Road, (36) Khurda Road, Koraput, Lanjigarh Road, Lapanga, Meramandali, Muniguda, Narayangarh, Nekurseni, Paradeep, Raghunathpur, Rayagada, Rengali, Rourkela, Soro, Talcher and Titlagarh Jn.

Stations Balangir, Balasore, Balugaon, Banspani, Bargarh Road, already Belpahar, Dhenkanal, Hijli, Jajpur-Keonjhar Road, Jaleswar, developed Jharsuguda, Kantabanji, Kesinga, Khariar Road, Khurda Road, under the Koraput, Muniguda, Paradeep, Rayagada, Rourkela, scheme and Titlagarh Jn. (21)

Jharkhand

Model Stations Baidyanathdham, Bokaro Steel City, Chakradharpur, Daltonganj, Station identified Dhanbad, Hatia, Jasidih, Koderma, Madhupur, Parasnath, Scheme under the Ranchi, Tatanagar, Sahibganj, Barharwa, Barkakana scheme and Garhwa Road.

(16)

Stations Baidyanathdham, Bokaro Steel City, Chakradharpur, Daltonganj, already Dhanbad, Hatia, Jasidih, Koderma, Madhupur, Parasnath, developed Ranchi, Tatanagar, Sahibganj, Barharwa, Barkakana under the and Garhwa Road.
scheme
(16)

Modern Stations Baidyanathdham, Barharwa, Bano, Barkakana, Bokaro Steel City, Station identified Chaibasa, Chakradharpur, Chandrapura, Daltonganj, Dhanbad, Scheme under the Garhwa Town, Ghatsila, Giridih, Gomoh, Haidernagar, scheme Hazaribagh Road, Hatia, Japla, Jasidih, Koderma, Kumardhubi, (32) Lohardaga, Madhupur, Manoharpur, Muri, Pakur, Parasnath, Ramgarh, Ranchi, Sahibganj, Sini and Tatanagar.

Stations Baidyanathdham, Barharwa, Bano, Bokaro Steel City, Chaibasa, already Chakradharpur, Daltonganj, Dhanbad, Ghatsila, Giridih, developed Gomoh, Hazaribagh Road, Hatia, Jasidih, Kumardhubi, Lohardaga, under the Madhupur, Manoharpur, Muri, Pakur, Parasnath, Ramgarh, scheme Ranchi, Sahibganj, Sini and Tatanagar. (26)

Adarsh Stations Bokaro, Chakradharpur, Chandrapura, Chittarajan, Daltonganj, Station identified Deoghar, Dhanbad, Dumka, Garhwa Road Jn., Gomoh Jn., Scheme under the Jagadishpur, Lohardaga, Madhupur, Pakur, Parashnath, scheme Phusro, Ranchi, Sahibganj, Silli and Tatanagar.

(20)

Stations Bokaro, Chakradharpur, Chandrapura, Chittarajan, already Gomoh Jn., Jagadishpur, Madhupur, Parashnath, developed Sahibganj and Tatanagar. under the scheme (10)

(e): Upgradation of passenger amenities at identified Adarsh Railway stations and progress thereof is monitored at various levels. The progress of these works depends upon relative priorities within the overall availability of resources.