GOVERNMENT OF INDIA TOURISM LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:33 ANSWERED ON:23.11.2012 TOURIST VISA-ON-ARRIVAL (TVOA) SCHEME Deo Shri Kalikesh Narayan Singh

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Tourist Visa-on-Arrival (TVOA) scheme has made any impact in the arrival of foreign tourists in the country;
- (b) if so, the progress made in the tourists influx since its inception;
- (c) the name of the countries and airports for which such facility is available at present;
- (d) whether the Government proposes to extend the scheme to some more countries and airports in the country; and
- (e) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE FOR TOURISM (INDEPENDENT CHARGE)(DR. K. CHIRANJEEVI)

(a) to (e): A Statement is laid on the Table of the Sabha.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.33 ANSWERED ON 23.11.2012 REGARDING TOURIST VISA-ON-ARRIVAL (TVOA) SCHEME.

- (a) & (b): Yes, Madam. As a facilitative measure to attract more foreign tourists to India, the Government launched a scheme of "Tourist Visa on Arrival" (TVOA) in January 2010. During the periods January December 2010, January December 2011 and January October 2012 a total of 6549, 12761 and 12273 TVOA were issued, respectively, under the scheme.
- (c): At present, TVOA facility in India is available for the citizens of eleven countries, viz. Cambodia, Finland, Indonesia, Japan, Laos, Luxembourg, Myanmar, New Zealand, Philippines, Singapore and Vietnam visiting India for tourism purposes.

TVOA facility is available at the international airports of Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata and Mumbai.

(d) & (e): In order to promote tourism, the Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVOA) scheme was introduced for the nationals of five countries, namely, Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand and Singapore with effect from 01.01.2010 for one year. The scheme was found to be useful by foreign nationals. The Government of India extended the Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVOA) scheme for the nationals of the above mentioned five countries. Further, the TVOA scheme was extended to the nationals of Cambodia, Laos, the Philippines and Vietnam with effect from 01.01.2011 and for the nationals of Indonesia and Myanmar with effect from 28.01.2011. Presently, the Scheme is available to the nationals of 11 countries.

Thus it will be seen that the extension of the TVOA facility to other countries & airports within India is an ongoing process based on various factors.