GOVERNMENT OF INDIA LAW AND JUSTICE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3142 ANSWERED ON:30.08.2012 LEGISLATIVE COUNCILS Rajendran Shri C.

Will the Minister of LAW AND JUSTICE be pleased to state:

(a) the names of States which have Legislative Councils;

(b) whether the Government has taken any policy decision to abolish Legislative Councils in all the States; and

(c) if so, the details thereof, and if not, the reasons therefor?

Answer

MINISTER OF LAW AND JUSTICE (SHRI SALMAN KHURSHID)

(a): At present there are six States that have bicameral legislature in their States, viz. Andhra Pradesh, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh.

(b) and (c): Article 169 of the Constitution provides that Parliament may by law provide for the abolition of the Legislative Council of a State having such a Council or for the creation of such a Council in a State having no such Council, if the Legislative Assembly of the State passes a resolution to that effect by a majority of the total membership of the Assembly and by a majority of not less than two-thirds of the members of the Assembly present and voting. The Central Government takes legislative measures on receipt of such a resolution passed by a Legislative Assembly, either for abolition or creation of Legislative Councils in the State.