GOVERNMENT OF INDIA CIVIL AVIATION LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:72 ANSWERED ON:19.11.2009 NON OPERATIONAL AIRPORTS Thamaraiselvan Shri R.

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:

(a) whether many airports in the country are non-operational for various reasons; and

(b) if so, the details thereof alongwith the reasons therefor?

Answer

MINISTER OF THE STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) IN THE MINISTRY OF CIVIL AVIATION (SHRI PRAFUL PATEL)

(a) & (b) There are 32 non-operational airports under Airports Authority of India mainly due to non-availability of passenger traffic, no demand from airlines and airports unfit for operations. These airports are Akola (Maharashtra), Asansol (West Bengal), Aizwal {Turial} (Mizoram), Balurghat (West Bengal), Behala (West Bengal), Bilaspur (Chhatigarh), Chakulia (Jharkhand), Cuddapah (Andhra Pradesh), Deesa {Planpur} (Gujarat), Donakonda (Andhra Pradesh), Hassan (Karnataka), Jalgaon (Maharashtra), Jharsuguda (Orissa), Jogbani (Bihar), Kailashahar (Tripura), Kamalpur (Tripura), Khandwa (Madhya Pradesh), Khowai (Tripura), Kishangarh (Rajashtan), Lalitpur (Uttar Pradesh), Malda (West Bengal), Muzaffarpur (Bihar), Mysore (Karnataka), Panna (Madhya Pradesh), Passighat (Arunachal Pradesh), Raxaul (Bihar), Rupsi (Assam), Satna (Madhya Pradesh), Sholapur (Maharashtra), Shella (Assam), Vellore (Tamilnadu), Warangal (Andhra Pradesh).