GOVERNMENT OF INDIA EXTERNAL AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4436 ANSWERED ON:07.09.2012 VISA-ON-ARRIVAL Ajay Kumar SHRI

Will the Minister of EXTERNAL AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether visa-on-arrival facility is provided by the Government to citizens of various countries;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the name of such countries;
- (c) whether some facility is reciprocated to the Indian citizens by those countries;
- (d) if so, the details thereof;
- (e) the names of the countries which do not reciprocate this facility to the Indian citizen along with the reasons therefor; and
- (f) the steps taken/proposed to be taken by the Government in this regard?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF EXTERNAL AFFAIRS (SHRIMATI PRENEET KAUR)

- (a) & (b) Yes. Under the visa-on-arrival scheme of the Government, tourist visas are issued on arrival to nationals of Finland, Luxembourg, Philippines, Japan, Myanmar, Singapore, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, Indonesia and New Zealand.
- (c) & (d) Cambodia, Indonesia and Laos grant visa on arrival to Indian nationals.
- (e) Finland, Japan, Luxemburg, New Zealand, Singapore, Vietnam, Myanmar do not grant visa on arrival to Indian nationals. Every country has the sovereign right to decide its visa policy.
- (f) During Foreign Office Consultations and consular talks with the above countries, which occur periodically, the Government of India takes up various issues, including reciprocity in visa matters.