GOVERNMENT OF INDIA DRINKING WATER AND SANITATION LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1880 ANSWERED ON:23.08.2012 NIRMAL GRAM PURASKAR Singh Shri Bhupendra

Will the Minister of DRINKING WATER AND SANITATION be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the agencies which conducted the survey regarding Nirmal Gram Puraskar during each of the last three years and the current year, State-wise;
- (b) the agency-wise details of the payments made for the said survey;
- (c) the norms laid down for conducting such survey work;
- (d) the details of the villages awarded the Nirmal Gram Puraskar on the basis of the said surveys, during the said period, State-wise; and
- (e) the amount of expenditure incurred on these awards during the said period, State-wise?

Answer

MINISTER OF DRINKING WATER AND SANITATION (SHRI JAIRAM RAMESH)

- (a) & (b) During 2009, the payment for survey was released to the States while during 2010 and 2011, the payment for survey was made to the survey agencies. No survey has been conducted during the current year. The names of the agencies which conducted the survey regarding Nirmal Gram Puraskar (NGP) during each of the last three years, State-wise and details of the survey fees are at Annexure-I.
- (c) The survey for NGP was conduct on sample basis by random selection of households from concerned Gram Panchayat in terms of NGP guidelines to ascertain access to sanitation by all the households. All the Schools and Anganwadi were surveyed for availability for sanitation facilities. Besides, information on other sanitary conditions like general cleanliness, garbage/waste management, conditions around public drinking water source, were also collected. The information was to be compiled and presented to the Ministry in prescribed format within prescribed time frame by teams of qualified personals in terms of NGP guidelines.
- (d) & (e) The details of the villages awarded the Nirmal Gram Puraskar during the last three years and the amount of award money provided to the awardees, State-wise, is at annexure-II. No award for the current year has been given till date.