GOVERNMENT OF INDIA CIVIL AVIATION LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2229 ANSWERED ON:24.08.2012 AIRPORTS UNDER AREA Badal Harsimrat Kaur;Ganpatrao Shri Jadhav Prataprao;Kumar Shri P.;Panda Shri Baijayant

Will the Minister of CIVIL AVIATION be pleased to state:

(a) the details of airports whose tariff regulation is under the ambit of Airports Economic Regulatory Authority (AERA);

(b) the changes likely to be brought, if any, to the tariff regulation at the said airports to attract investment and the details of the directions issued by the Government to AERA in this regard;

(c) whether most of the airports/airstrips in the country are too old and need repair and maintenance; and

(d) if so, the details thereof, airport-wise and the action/steps taken by the Government in this regard and to make more unused airports operational?

Answer

MINISTER OF CIVIL AVIATION(SHRI AJIT SINGH)

(a): The details of the aiprorts whose tariff regulation is under the ambit of Airports Eonomic Regulatory Authority (AERA) are at Ahmedabad, Calicut, Chennai, Guwahati, Jaipur, Kolkata, Thiruananthapuram, Lucknow, Srinagar, Goa, Pune, Bangalore, Delhi, Hyderabad, Kochi and Mumbai.

(b): AERA is the independent regulatory established under AERA Act, 2008 to determine the aeronautical tariff at major airports. Government of India has not issued any directions to AERA in respect of determination of charges at major airports.

(c): No, Madam.

(d): Development of airports is a continuous process which takes into account the commercial viability, traffic potential/demands, commitment of airlines to operate through the specific airports etc. Accordingly, Airports Authority of India (AAI) has taken up development of 13 non-operational airports at Mysore, Akola, Tezu, Cuddapah, Passighat, Rupsi, Sholapur, Kamalpur, Chakulia, Jharsuguda, Malda, Vellore and Warrangle. Out of this, Mysore, Akola & Sholapur has since been made operational.