GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINES LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:7068
ANSWERED ON:18.05.2012
GSI SURVEY ON PLATINUM
Jeyadural Shri S. R.;Sayeed Muhammed Hamdulla A. B.

Will the Minister of MINES be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Geological Survey of India (GSI) has found presence of Platinum Group of Elements (PGE) in Tamil Nadu, Odisha and other parts of the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether steps have been taken to find out more quantity of the same in other parts of the country; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF THE STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) IN THE MINISTRY OF MINES (SHRI DINSHA PATEL)

- (a): Yes, Madam. Geological Survey of India (GSI) has found presence of Platinum Group of Elements (PGE) in Tamil Nadu, Odisha and other parts of the country, such as Karnataka, Maharashtra, Kerala, Manipur and Nagaland.
- (b): The exploration carried out so far by GSI has resulted in identification of the following four major PGE prospects in the country:
- (i) Baula Nausahi Odisha 14.20 million tones of PGE ore
- (ii) Hanumalpura Karnataka 4.5 million tones PGE ore
- (iii) Sittampundi Tamil Nadu 0.70 million tones of PGE ore
- (iv) Mettuppalaiyam Tamil Nadu 0.38 million tones of PGE ore
- (c): Yes, GSI has taken steps to find out more quantity of PGE in other parts of the country which inter-alia includes: (i) to undertake state of art baseline data (ii) to explore minerals having poor resource cum reserve base like PGE in locales of favourable geological milieu(iii) to augment existing resource position with special emphasis on deficient and scarce minerals like PGE through continuous integrated multi-disciplinary exploration (iv) to delineate new target areas through syntheses of multi-disciplinary earth science data in vast tract of areas, for which potential is yet to be established.
- (d): GSI has given emphasis on investigation of PGE in the country and during Field Season 2006-07 to 2010-12, GSI has carried out investigation for PGE in the states of Tamil Nadu, Karnataka, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Meghalaya, Uttar Pradesh, Jharkhand, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur and Nagaland.