## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:6615 ANSWERED ON:16.05.2012 CORRUPTION CASES PENDING IN COURTS Singh Alias Pappu Singh Shri Uday

## Will the Minister of PERSONNEL, PUBLIC GRIEVANCES AND PENSIONS be pleased to state:

- (a) the number of cases of corruption pending in various courts in the country as on 31 January, 2012; and
- (b) the mechanism to be adopted by the Government to clear such cases?

## Answer

Minister of State in the Ministry of Personnel, Public Grievances and Pensions and Minister of State in the Prime Minister's Office.

(SHRI V. NARAYANASAMY) (a): There were 7172 cases of corruption investigated by CBI pending trial (as on 31-01-2012) in various courts all over the country. Data regarding cases of corruption investigated by other agencies is not centrally maintained.

(b): On the recommendation of the Hon'ble Chief Justice of India, the Central Government decided to set up 71 additional special courts exclusively for the trial of CBI cases in different states. Out of these 71 courts, Central Government has sanctioned 70 courts; out of which 62 courts have started functioning. The state wise details of the newly created additional courts including years of establishment are at Annexure-I.

In addition, 43 Special Prosecutors / Assistant Special Prosecutors and 45 Technical Experts have also been appointed.

Annexure-I

STATEMENT SHOWING WHERE THE ADDITIONAL SPECIAL COURTS STARTED FUNCTIONING

Name of the StateLocation of the CourtNo. of Court started FunctioningYear of FunctioningHYDERABAD ZONEAndhra Pradesh Hyderabad032012Visakhapatnam022012KarnatakaBangalore022010Dharwad012011PATNA ZONEBiharPatna032011Jharkhand Ranchi022011Dhanbad04DELHI ZONEDelhiDelhi12 (out of 15)09-2011 03-2012RajasthanJaipur022011LUCKNOW ZONEUttar PradeshLucknow042010Ghaziabad022010MUMBAI ZONE-IMaharashtra Mumbai032010Nagpur012011Amravati012011Pune012011MUMBAI ZONE-IIGujaratAhmedabad022011CHANDIGARH ZONE Jammu & KashmirJammu012011HaryanaPanchkula012011BHOPAL ZONEMadhya PradeshBhopal012009Jabalpur012009Chattisgarh Raipur012012KOLKATA ZONEWest BengalKolkata0603-2011 03-2012 GUWAHATIZONE

Assam Guwahati 02 2012 CHENNAI ZONE

Tamil Nadu Chennai 03 2010 Kerala Thiruvananthapuram 01 2011

Total 62