GOVERNMENT OF INDIA POWER LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4804 ANSWERED ON:04.05.2012 DELAY IN ACHIEVING CAPACITY ADDITIONTARGETS Reddy Shri K. Jayasurya Prakash

Will the Minister of POWER be pleased to state:

(a) whether his Ministry has blamed Bharat Heavy Electrical Limited (BHEL) for delay generation capacity addition targets during the Eleventh Five Year Plan;

(b) if so, the details thereof; and

(c) the corrective measures taken by the Government in this regard?

Answer

MINISTER OF THE STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF POWER (SHRI K.C. VENUGOPAL)

(a) & (b): A thermal capacity of 39575.2 MW was originally targeted for capacity addition during the 11th Plan by commissioning of various thermal power projects ordered on BHEL. This target was revised to 30265.2 MW during the 11th Plan Mid-Term Appraisal (MTA). As against the above targets, a thermal capacity of 24144.2 MW (which includes an additional capacity of 21 MW not included in Original/MTA Target) was achieved during the 11th Plan.

(c): Corrective measures taken by the Government are as under:

(i) To overcome any constraints in supply, BHEL is augmenting its manufacturing capacity to about 20,000 MW by December, 2012. Further, BHEL has been asked to take following actions:

Detailed analysis for outsourcing of equipment manufacturing on system basis and other components to ancillary units.

Advance placement of orders for long delivery and critical items in international market.

Development of skilled manpower in the area of high pressure welding, fittings, instrumentation etc.

Augmentation of erection and commissioning infrastructure.

(ii) Several Joint Venture (JV) for manufacture of supercritical boilers and turbine generators have been set up in the country.

(iii) Periodic review of issues related to supply of power equipment from BHEL by a group under the chairmanship of Secretary (Heavy Industry).

(iv) Rigorous monitoring of projects at different levels including by Ministry of Power, Central Electricity Authority, Power Projects Monitoring Panel and Advisory Group under the chairmanship of Minister of Power.