GOVERNMENT OF INDIA ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4906 ANSWERED ON:07.05.2012 WATER POLLUTION Bairwa Shri Khiladi Lal;Meghwal Shri Bharat Ram

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the polluted water and wastes of some cities of Punjab is drained in Sutlej river through Buddha and Kaliken Nallah;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether the polluted water is being drained into Rajasthan Canal through Harike water works; and
- (d) the action taken by the Government in this regard?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS (SHRIMATI JAYANTHI NATARAJAN)

(a)to (d) As per the information received from Central Pollution Control Board and Punjab Water Supply and Sewerage Board, river Satluj in Punjab receives treated/untreated domestic and industrial wastewater from various towns on its banks as well as through Budha Nala, East Bein, West Bein and river Beas, which merges into Satluj at Harike Lake. Harike is the water source for various canals, including the Rajasthan Feeder Canal.

For pollution abatement of rivers Satluj and Beas, projects costing Rs. 717.32 crore have been sanctioned for Ludhiana, Jalandhar, Phagwara, Phillaur, Sultanpur Lodhi, Kapurthala, SBS Nagar, Banga, Bholath, Tanda, Mukerian, Dasuya, Hoshiarpur and Moga under the National River Conservation Plan (NRCP) of this Ministry. The sanctioned works include construction of sewage treatment capacity of 648.2 million litres per day (mld) in these towns. For improving the water quality of Budha Nalla in Ludhiana, a demonstration/pilot project for in-situ treatment of sewage through bio-remediation has also been sanctioned under the NRCP at an estimated cost of Rs. 15.28 crore. Till date, an amount of Rs. 299.49 crore has been released by this Ministry for implementation of these sanctioned projects.

In addition, projects for construction of sewerage systems and sewage treatment plants have also been sanctioned from State funds provided by the Government of Punjab as well as the Union Ministry of Urban Development under the JNNURM (Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission) and UIDSSMT (Urban infrastructure Development Scheme for Small & Medium Towns) schemes in the towns of Nangal, Anandpur Sahib, Rupnagar, Kurali, Machhiwara, Ludhiana, Jalandhar, Makhu, Dharamkot, Zira, Talwandi Bhai, Ferozepur, Sultanpur Lodhi, Pathankot, Begowal, Dhilwan, Rayya and Sham Churasi in Punjab.