GOVERNMENT OF INDIA RAILWAYS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4477 ANSWERED ON:03.05.2012 CONSULTATIVE ADVISORY COMMITTEES Sampath Shri Anirudhan

Will the Minister of RAILWAYS be pleased to state:

(a) the details of various consultative/advisory committees constituted by the Railways after the elections to the 15th Lok Sabha, Zone/Division-wise;

(b) whether Members of Parliament and Members of Legislatures are also included as Members in these committees;

(c) if so, the details thereof and if not, the reasons therefor; and

(d) the total number and percentage of suggestions-complaints solved/disposed off since the constitution of 15th Lok Sabha, as a result of the meeting of the said committees alongwith the number of meetings and percentage of attendance in such meetings, yearwise and Zone-wise including Southern Railway?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF RAILWAYS (SHRI K.H. MUNIYAPPA)

(a) to (d): A Statement is laid on the Table of the House.

STATEMENT REFERRED TO IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) To (d) OF UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 4477 BYADV. A. SAMPATH TO BE ANSWERED IN LOK SABHA ON 03.05.2012 REGARDING CONSULTATIVE/ADVISORY COMMITTEES

(a): The details of various Consultative Committees constituted after election to the 15th Lok Sabha are as under:-

S. No. Name of the Term for which Committee/Council constituted

(i) National Railway Users' 16.09.2009 to 15.09.2011 Consultative Council (NRUCC)

(ii) Zonal Railway Users' 16.09.2009 to 15.09.2011 & Consultative Committee (ZRUCC) 01.12.2011 to 30.11.2013

(iii) Konkan Railway Users' 16.09.2009 to 15.09.2011 & Consultative Committee (KRUCC) 01.12.2011 to 30.11.2013

(iv) Divisional Railway Users' 16.09.2009 to 15.09.2011 & Consultative Committee (DRUCC) 1.10.2011 to 30.09.2013

(v) Metro Railway Users' 27.10.2010 to 26.10.2012 Consultative Committee (MRUCC)

Further, Suburban Railway Users' Consultative Committees (SRUCCs) are also constituted on the Railways having defined suburban section and Station Consultative Committees (SCCs) are constituted at important stations by all zonal Railways.

(b) & (c): Yes, Madam. There is a provision for nominating Members of Parliament on NRUCC, ZRUCC, KRUCC, MRUCC & SRUCC. MLAs are nominated on ZRUCC, KRUCC, MRUCC & DRUCC.

(d): After the constitution of 15th Lok Sabha, 42 meetings of ZRUCCs & KRUCC and 274 meetings of DRUCCs have been held. The suggestions received during these meetings are examined and necessary action is taken. Centralized data of the suggestions given

during these meetings or their attendance is not compiled.