GOVERNMENT OF INDIA TOURISM LOK SABHA

STARRED QUESTION NO:322 ANSWERED ON:27.04.2012 TOURISM PROJECTS Panda Shri Baijayant;Tudu Shri Laxman

Will the Minister of TOURISM be pleased to state:

- (a) whether a number of tourism development projects submitted by the State Governments and Union Territory Administrations for approval/clearance during the last three years are still pending with the Union Government;
- (b) if so, the details thereof indicating the period and the reasons for their pendency, State/UT-wise;
- (c) the time by which these pending proposals are likely to be cleared;
- (d) whether the Union Government has constituted an Inter- Ministerial Coordination Committee for the development of tourism projects;
- (e) if so, the terms of reference and composition of the Committee; and
- (f) the progress made in the clearance/development of projects?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF TOURISM (SHRI SUBODH KANT SAHAI)

(a) to (f): A Statement is laid on the Table of the Sabha.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO LOK SABHA STARRED QUESTION NO.322 ANSWERED ON 27.04.2012 REGARDING TOURISM PROJECTS.

- (a) to (c): The details of tourism projects sanctioned by the Ministry of Tourism to various State Governments/Union Territory (UT) Administrations during 2009-10, 2010-11 and 2011-12 (till 31.12.2011) are in Annexure. Ministry of Tourism, grants central financial assistance to the projects in consultation with the State Governments/Union Territory Administrations subject to availability of funds, inter-se priority, and adherence to Scheme Guidelines. Prioritisation meetings with States/ U.Ts are generally held before the commencement of fresh financial year. All pending projects and fresh proposals to be undertaken by States/ U.Ts are finalized in these meetings.
- (d) to (f): An Inter-Ministerial Coordination Committee on Tourism Sector (IMCCTS) has been constituted under the Chairmanship of the Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister.

The terms of reference of the Committee are to facilitate resolution of Inter- Ministerial issues involved in the development of tourism in the country as well as issues raised by industry associations in the tourism sector.

The members of Committee are: Member Secretary, Planning Commission, Chairman, Railway Board, Secretaries from the Ministries of Home, Defence, External Affairs, Road Transport & Highways, Civil Aviation, Rural Development, Environment & Forests, Urban Development, Labour and Employment, Culture, Departments of Revenue, Expenditure and School Education & Literacy. Secretary, Ministry of Tourism is the Member Convener of the Committee.

The first meeting of the committee was held on 19th January, 2012. It discussed various important matters including facilitation of issue of visas to foreign tourists, functioning of tourist visa on arrival scheme, broad basing of hospitality education, better road connectivity of tourist places, improving rail connectivity, skill development through 'Hunar-se-Rozgar' initiative, etc.