GOVERNMENT OF INDIA COAL LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3317 ANSWERED ON:25.04.2012 CAPTIVE COAL BLOCKS Lal Shri Kirodi

Will the Minister of COAL be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has recently cancelled the captive coal blocks which were allotted from 2006 onwards but not prior to 2006;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the justification of cancellation and non-cancellation; (
- (c) the details of pending cases of cancellation of coal blocks allocated from 2002 onwards; and
- (d) the time by which these are likely to be cancelled or re-allocated?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF COAL (SHRI PRATIK PRAKASHBAPU PATIL)

- (a) & (b): The details of coal blocks de-allocated which were allocated from 2006 onwards but not prior to 2006 are as under:
- Sr. Name of the Public/ Name of Date of Date of de- Reasons for de-allocation
 No. company Private Block allocation allocation
 Sector allocated
- 1 Gujarat Mineral Public Jainagar 02.08.2006 2008 GMDC surrendered the block.

 Development Corp. subsequently, it was deallocated
- 2 Binani Cement Ltd. Private Datima 05.09.2008 27.04.2010 No progress made. Re committee decided to de-allocatethe block.
- 3 Murli Industries Private Lohara 27.06.2008 17.05.2010 No progress made. Review and Grace Industries committeedecided to the (East) de-allocate
- 4 Maharastra State Public Agarzari 25.07.2007 28.06.2010 No progress made.commit
 Mining Corp. Ltd. tee decided to de-allocate .

 the block
- 5 Rashtriya Ispat Public Tenughat- 10.09.2008 07.03.2011 -do-Nigam Ltd. Jhirki
- 6 Bhatia International Private Warora West 20.02.2007 30.05.2011 No progress made.Review Committee
- 7 Andhra Pradesh Public Ansettipalli 20.02.2007 30.05.2011 No progress made.Review Corporation Ltd decided to de-allocate Power Generation the bloc

8 Andhra Pradesh Public Punukula- 20.02.2007 30.05.2011 No progress made.

Power Generation Chilaka Review Committee

Corporation Ltd. the decided to de-allocate

9 Andhra Pradesh Public Pengedappa 29.05.2007 30.05.2011 No progress made.Review

Power Generation Committeedecided to de-Corporation Ltd. allocate the block.

10 National Public Chhati-bariatu 25.01.2006 14.06.2011 No progress made.

Power Corporation Review Committee

Ltd. decided to de-allo

cate the block.

11 National Thermal Public Kerandari 25.01.2006 14.06.2011 No progress made.

Power Corporation Review Committee

Ltd. decided tode-allo cate the block.

12 National Thermal Public Chhati Bariatu 25.07.2007 14.06.2011 No progress made. Review Power Corporation (South) Committee decided to de-all

Ltd. ocate the block.

13 National Thermal Public Brahmini 25.01.2006 14.06.2011 No progress made.Review

Power Corporation Committee decided to de-all

Ltd. ocate the block.

14 National Thermal Public Chichro 25.01.2006 14.06.2011 No progress made.Review

Power Corporation Committee Pastimaldecided to de-allocate the block.

15 Jharkhand state Public Banhardih 02.08.2006 14.06.2011 No progress made.Review

Electricity Board Committee decided to de-allocate the block.

16 Damodar Valley Public Saharpur 25.07.2007 14.06.2011 No progress made.Review

Corporation Jamarpani Committee decided to de-

allocate the block.

17 West Bengal Power Public East of 27.02.2009 21.10.2011 West Bengal Power Devel

Development Damagoria -opment Corporation has

Corporation (Kalyanshwari) surrendered the block

(c)&(d): Sariya Koiyatand coal block allotted to M/s Bihar Rajya Khanij Vikas Nigam Ltd., a Govt. company is pending for deallocation in view of the order of Hon'ble High Court of Patna.