GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HOUSING AND URBAN POVERTY ALLEVIATION LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3073 ANSWERED ON:24.04.2012 DPRS FOR SLUM FREE CITIES Guddu Shri Premchandra

Will the Minister of HOUSING AND URBAN POVERTY ALLEVIATION be pleased to state:

- (a) the cities in Madhya Pradesh selected under the various schemes for making the State slum free;
- (b) whether the Union government has provided funds to the State Government of Madhya Pradesh for preparation of Detailed Project Reports (DPRs) for making the cities slum free;
- (c) if so, the names of the cities for which DPR has been received by the Union government in the first phase;
- (d) whether the Union Government has urged the State Governments to expedite preparation of DPRs for various cities; and
- (e) if so, the outcome thereof?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF HOUSING & URBAN POVERTY ALLEVIATION (KUMARI SELJA)

- (a) In pursuance of the Government's vision of creating a Slum-free India, a new scheme 'Rajiv Awas Yojana' (RAY) has been launched on 02.06.2011. The Phase I of Rajiv Awas Yojana is for a period of two years from the date of approval of the scheme. The cities included in the 1st Phase of RAY in Madhya Pradesh are Indore, Bhopal, Jabalpur, Gwalior, Ujjain and Sagar.
- (b) An amount of Rs. 288.25 lakhs has been released to the Government of Madhya Pradesh under the Slum Free City Planning Scheme the preparatory phase of RAY towards establishment of State and City Technical Cells, conduct of slum survey, GIS mapping, Integration of GIS & MIS and other activities related to preparation of Slum Free City Plans of Action.
- (c) Detailed Project Reports (DPRs) of Pilot Projects covering selected slums under RAY have been received for Indore, Gwalior, Sagar and Jabalpur, which have been approved.
- (d)& (e) This Ministry has urged State Governments/UTs to expedite the preparation of Slum Free City Plans of Action and DPRs for Pilot Projects. This is being reviewed in periodical meetings /discussions. 08 Pilot Projects have been received from five states, namely, Andhra Pradesh, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Odisha and Rajasthan which have been approved.