GOVERNMENT OF INDIA AGRICULTURE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2250
ANSWERED ON:27.03.2012
HYBRID PADDY
Anandan Shri K.Murugeshan;Majumdar Shri Prasanta Kumar;Tirkey Shri Manohar

Will the Minister of AGRICULTURE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether new varieties of hybrid paddy have been developed and released for cultivation in the country including Rajarajan 1000;
- (b) if so, the details thereof along with the output of such paddy registered in the country;
- (c) whether the Government proposes to introduce a new System of Rice Intensification with the support of the World Bank to achieve higher output of rice per hectare than the conventional rice cultivation in the country; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof alongwith the fiscal support provided by the World Bank for this purpose?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FOOD PROCESSING INDUSTRIES (DR. CHARAN DAS MAHANT)

- (a) & (b): Yes, Madam. 47 varieties of hybrid paddy have been developed and released/notified under Section 5 of the Seeds Act, 1966 for cultivation in the country. The Rajarajan 1000 variety of Paddy has not been released/notified. However, System of Rice Intensification, a method of rice cultivation has been named as Rajarajan 1000 to commemorate 1000 years celebration of Tanjore Big Temple. The list of the hybrid paddy developed so far along with their output details is at Annexure-I.
- (c) & (d): The System of Rice Intensification is being promoted under National Food Security Mission Rice, for increasing the production and productivity of rice. System of Rice Intensification demonstrations under the Scheme are being promoted for 0.4 ha each by providing the assistance of Rs.3000/- per demonstration. National Food Security Mission- Rice is being implemented in 144 districts of 16 States, i.e. Andhra Pradesh (11), Assam (13), Bihar (18), Chhattisgarh (10), Gujarat (2), Jharkhand (7), Karnataka (7), Kerala (1), Madhya Pradesh (9), Maharashtra (6), Orissa (15), Tamil Nadu (5), Uttar Pradesh (27), West Bengal (8), Jammu & Kashmir (3) and Tripura (2). This department has not taken assistance of World Bank for this purpose.