GOVERNMENT OF INDIA ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:770
ANSWERED ON:19.03.2012
FUNDS UNDER CAMPA PLAN
Hegde Shri Anant Kumar;Roy Shri Arjun;Singh Shri Rajiv Ranjan (Lalan);Yadav Shri Dinesh Chandra

Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has constituted the Compensatory Afforestation Fund Management and Planning Authority (CAMPA);
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the amount allocated in this regard during the last three years and the current year, State-wise;
- (c) whether the amount has been utilized properly in this regard;
- (d) if so, the details thereof alongwith the utilized/ unutilized amount during the said period, State-wise;
- (e) whether any monitoring mechanism has been put in place to keep a vigil on the adequate utilization of the said amount; and
- (f) if so, the details thereof and the steps taken by the Government in this regard?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS (SHRIMATI JAYANTHI NATARAJAN)

- (a) All concerned State/ UT Governments have constituted State CAMPAs in terms of the Guidelines circulated to them on 15th July 2009 with the approval of the Hon'ble Supreme Court of India;
- (b) the details of the funds released to the State CAMPAs in the years 2009-10, 2010-11 and 2011-12 are shown in the Annexure;
- (c)&(d) in terms of the Guidelines, supra, the task of taking all steps including obtaining concurrence of the State level Steering Committee for release of funds and supervising the works being implemented out of the funds released from the State CAMPAs, is in the domain of the State level Executive Committee;
- (e)&(f) a Project named "e-Green Watch" [earlier called the Integrated CAMPA Concurrent Monitoring and Evaluation System] has been assigned to the National Informatics Centre, who have implemented the Pilot phase of the real- time on-line monitoring and evaluation system for the works being implemented out of the funds released to the State CAMPAs, in the States of Andhra Pradesh, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Sikkim and Tripura.