GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1197 ANSWERED ON:21.03.2012 STATUS OF CENTRAL UNIVERSITY Yadav Shri Madhusudan

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Union Government has decided to convert certain State Universities into Central Universities;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (c) the number of the proposals received from the various State Governments including Chhattisgarh in this regard;
- (d) the final decision of the Union Government thereon; and
- (e) the deference between a University having status of Central University and a University set up by the State Government?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (DR. D. PURANDESWARI)

- (a) & (b): Sixteen Central Universities were set up in the unserved states, during the XI Plan. The proposal included conversion of four State Universities in the States of Chhattisgarh, Goa, Madhya Pradesh and Uttarakhand. Subsequently, on a specific request of the State Government of Goa, conversion of Goa University was dropped and the State Universities of Guru Ghasidas University, Bilaspur (Chhattisgarh), Dr. Harisingh Gaur University, Sagar (Madhya Pradesh) and HNB University, Srinagar Garhwal (Uttarakhand) were converted into Central Universities. The Government does not propose to convert any more State Universities into Central Universities.
- (c) & (d): Seven proposals from various State Governments were received from time to time for conversion of certain State Universities to Central Universities including one from Chhattisgarh. Details of the proposals and their status are annexed.
- (e): State Universities are established and incorporated under an enactment of State Legislature and Central Universities are incorporated under an Act of Parliament. The 16 new Central Universities set up under the Central University Act, 2009 are unitary teaching universities and do not have powers of affiliation whereas the State Universities can grant affiliation to Colleges within their territorial jurisdiction.