GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HOME AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:39 ANSWERED ON:13.03.2012 POLICE STATIONS Siddeswara Shri Gowdar Mallikarjunappa

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

(a) the number of police stations in the National Capital Territory (NCT) of Delhi;

(b) whether the number of police stations is being increased;

(c) if so, the details thereof;

(d) the required proportionate number of police stations in the context of the population of the NCT of Delhi; and

(e) the number of the police posts in the NCT of Delhi at present?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI MULLAPPALLY RAMACHANDRAN)

(a): Madam, at present, 180 Police Stations (161-Territorial, 5- Railways, 8-Metro, 2-IGI Airport and 4-Special Units i.e. Special Cell, Economic Offences Wing, Special Police Unit for Women and Children and Crime Branch) are functioning in the National Capital Territory of Delhi.

(b) & (c): There is no proposal to increase the number of police stations in Delhi Police.

(d): The police stations are created on the basis of yardsticks laid down by BPR&D. Density of population, crime and the area are basic criteria which are taken into consideration for creation of a police station along with other special factors such as communal sensitivity, topography, industrial activities etc.

(e): 49 police posts including 3 Railway Police Posts are functioning at present in the NCT of Delhi.