## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA WATER RESOURCES LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3534 ANSWERED ON:29.07.2009 NORMS FOR SPECIAL STATUS UNDER AIBP Bairwa Shri Khiladi Lal;Patel Shri Devji

## Will the Minister of WATER RESOURCES be pleased to state:

- (a) the norms and the procedure prescribed by the Government for granting of special status to States under the Accelerated Irrigation Benefits Programme; and
- (b) the procedure and conditions adopted for including Jammu and Kashmir, Haryana and North-Eastern States in the category of special States?

## **Answer**

## MINISTER OF THE STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF WATER RESOURCES (SHRI VINCENT H. PALA)

(a) to (b) Special Category Status has been granted to some States that are characterized by a number of features necessitating special consideration. These features include (i) Hilly and difficult terrain (ii) Low population density and/ or sizeable share of tribal population, (iii) Strategic location along borders with neighboring countries, (iv) Economic and infrastructural backwardness and (v) Non-viable nature of state finances. States under this category have a low resource base and are not in a position to mobilize resources for their developmental needs even though the per capita income of some of these states is relatively high. Moreover, a number of these states were constituted out of former small Union Territories or districts of some other states, necessarily involving creation of overheads and administrative infrastructure that was out of proportion to their resource base.

At present there are 11 Special Category States namely, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Sikkim, Tripura and Uttarakhand.

The decision regarding Special Category Status is to be taken by the National Development Council (NDC) which is sole body competent to do so.

The NDC in its 42nd meeting held on 11.10.1990 inter-alia decided that Assam and Jammu & Kashmir may be given the same grant-loan ratio (90:10) as for other Special Category States.

The North Eastern State viz., Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Tripura, Mizoram were granted special category status at the time the Union Territories/districts of a State (except Sikkim) acquired Statehood.