GOVERNMENT OF INDIA WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1846 ANSWERED ON:02.12.2011 STATE COMMISSION FOR PROTECTION OF CHILD RIGHTS Lagadapati Shri Rajagopal

Will the Minister of WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

(a) whether a large number of States/Union Territories (UTs) have not set up State Commission for Protection of Child Rights envisaged under the National Commission for Protection of Child Rights (NCPCR) Act;

(b) if so, the details thereof alongwith the reasons therefor; and

(c) the efforts made/being made by the Government for expediting the setting up of such commissions in States/UTs who are yet to set up the same?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE OF THE MINISTRY OF WOMEN AND CHILD DEVELOPMENT (SHRIMATI KRISHNA TIRATH)

(a) & (b): Section 17 of The Commissions for Protection of Child Rights (CPCR) Act, 2005 provides that a State Government may constitute The State Commission for Protection of Child Rights (SCPCR). 23 States/Union Territories have not constituted SCPCR. These are Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand, Kerala, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Tamil Nadu, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Gujarat, Tripura, Andaman & Nicobar Islands, Daman & Diu, Lakshadweep, Puducherry, Chandigarh and Dadra & Nagar Haveli.

The Governments of Gujarat and Puducherry have entrusted the functions of SCPCR to the State Commission for Women. The Government of Tripura and Dadra & Nagar Haveli and Chandigarh Administrations have stated that being a small size of State/Union Territory, a separate SCPCR is not feasible.

(c): The Ministry as well as National Commission for Protection of Child Rights (NCPCR) has requested the concerned State Governments/Union Territory Administrations from time to time for the constitution of SCPCR as per the provision of Section 17 of the CPCR Act, 2005. As a result, SCPCRs have been constituted in 12 States viz. Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, National Capital Territory of Delhi, Goa, Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan and Sikkim.