GOVERNMENT OF INDIA URBAN DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1209 ANSWERED ON:29.11.2011 DEVELOPMENT OF CITIES NO.

Biswal Shri Hemanand ;Gandhi Shri Dilip Kumar Mansukhlal;Hussain Shri Syed Shahnawaz;Joshi Shri Mahesh;Joshi Shri Pralhad Venkatesh;Paswan Shri Kamlesh ;Punia Shri P.L. ;Singh Dr. Raghuvansh Prasad;Tagore Shri Manicka

Will the Minister of URBAN DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Union Government has received fresh project proposals from the various State Governments for inclusion of cities and towns and master plan for the development of cities/towns in the country under the Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JNNURM);
- (b) if so, the details and the present status thereof, State-wise and project-wise; and
- (c) the action taken by the Union Government thereon alongwith the funds allocated thereunder during each of the last three years, State-wise and project-wise?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF URBAN DEVELOPMENT (SHRI SAUGATA ROY)

(a) & (b): Request for inclusion under Urban Infrastructure & Governance (UIG) of Jawaharlal Nehru National Urban Renewal Mission (JnNURM) have been received in respect of Warangal, Karamsad, Gandhinagar, Hubli-Dharward, Gulbarga, Belgaum, Gaya, Biharshariff, Pawapuri, Nalanda, Rajgir, Sultanpur-Lodhi, Kurukshetra- Pehowa, Gurgaon, Aurangabad, Vrindavan, Kurnool, Jodhpur, Gwalior, Guntur, Panipat, Bellary, Calicut, Darjeeling, Kalimpong & Kurseong, Deoghar, Sambalpur, Dhule, Malegaon, Kolhapur, Port Blair, Kaithal, Siliguri, Haldia, Amravati, Solapur etc. At present there are 65 cities covered under UIG of JnNURM and no more cities have been added. However, cities that are not covered under UIG are eligible for assistance under Urban Infrastructure Development Scheme for Small and Medium Towns (UIDSSMT) subject to availability of funds.

It was proposed by the Ministry to include the following 28 cities/urban agglomerations with population of 5 lakh and above as per 2001 Census under the UIG component of JnNURM

Guntur, Warangal, Durg-Bhilai Nagar, Bhavnagar, Jamnagar, Belgaum, Mangalore, Hubli-Dharwad, Kozhikode, Gwalior, Amravati, Bhiwandi, Aurangabad, Kolhapur, Solapur, Cuttak, Jalandhar, Bikaner, Jodhpur, Kota, Salem, Tiruppur, Tiruchirappalli, Aligarh, Bareilly, Ghaziabad, Gorakhpur and Moradabad.

On account of resource constraints, the Planning Commission and Ministry of Finance could not agree to include these cities under UIG of JnNURM.

(c): Details of Additional Central Assistance (ACA) released for utilization for the projects during the last three years, State-wise is annexed.