## GOVERNMENT OF INDIA YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:3284 ANSWERED ON:23.08.2011 SCHEME OF SCOUTING AND GUIDING Siyakumar Alias J.K. Ritheesh Shri K.

## Will the Minister of YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS be pleased to state:

- (a) the aims and objectives of the Scheme of Scouting and Guiding alongwith the names of its office bearers at both National and State level;
- (b) the grants released under the scheme during each of the last three years and the current year;
- (c) whether there is any arrangement to audit its accounts, annually:
- (d) if so, the details thereof alongwith the name of the firm which has been entrusted for the purpose; and
- (e) the authorised officials/persons at the National and State level for spending/sanctioning the expenditure for the grants?

## **Answer**

## THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS (SHRI AJAY MAKEN)

(a): The scheme of Scouting and Guiding is a Central Scheme which aims to promote balanced physical and mental development among young people. Under this scheme financial assistance is provided only to the National Headquarter of Bharat Scouts & Guides on year to year basis for selected activities. Names of office bearers of Bharat Scouts & Guides at National level are: Shri Rameshwar Tahkur, Shri K.K.Khandelwal, Shri Rakesh Tripathi, Shri Jitendra Singh Bundela, Shri K.P. Mishra, Dr.(Smt.) Sudha Prakash, Miss Radhika Pradhan, Shri L.M. Jain, Shyamal Kumar Biswas, Dr. (Mrs.) Manik Barsaley, Shri MahindraBhai M.Patel, Smt. Shalini Mishra, Thiru Harish L. Metha, Smt. Suniti Pandey, Shri Ashish Aggarwal & Shri Rakesh Kumar Sharma.

At the State level, the office bearers are Mr. Sanjay Kumar Saxena, Mr. R.Dev Das, Mrs. Leela Varghese, Smt. Shalini Misra, Dr.R. Satvnaravana, Smt. Balamaya Devi, Sri Sridhara Rao, Shri Tapang Taloh, Shri K. Yirang, Shri M. Kadu, Smt. R.Mibang, Dr. Harendra Chandra Das, Shri Hemanta Kumar Sarma, Smt. Tillottama Chetia, Shri Narayan Chandra Pegu, Shri Ram Kumar Singh, Shri Shailendra Kumar, Smt. Sushila Singh, Shri Dharmendra Kumar, Dr.S.B. Gupta, Smt. Anjana Tripathi, Shri F.A. Khan, Sh. Samwartak Singh, Sh. Chanchal Singh, Mrs.Saroj Mittal, Dr.Rajender Kumar Sharma, Shri Vinod Khandekar, Shri Rakesh Chaturvedi, Smt. Janaki Rangari, Dr.(Mrs-) M. Barsaley, Shri S.K. Sharma, Smt. Prem Bhatnagar, Sh. R.G.Goel, Shri R.S. Saini, Shri N, Swaminathan, Smt. Vinita Jain, Dr.Anupam Sett, Mr.P.R. Nadkarni, Adv.Vinayak Narvekar, Mr.s Swati Malik, Mr.James Fernandes, Shri Mahendrabhai M. Patel, Shri N.F. Trivedi, Smt. Bhavanaben Surati, Smt. Savitaben K. Pujara, Smt. Dheera Khandelwal, Shri K.K.Khandelwal, Shri Vijayendra Kumar, Mrs.Versha Khangwal, Smt. Neerja Shekhar, Shri S.S.Kaushal, Dr. O.P.Sharma, Sh.Devinder Kashyap, Mrs.Neelam Sharma, Shri N.A. Khan, Shri I.D. Soni, Shri Vedi Sharan Mishra, Shri B.S.Mishra, Smt. Mriduia Sinha, Sri Shri Mohan Singh, Shri Kondaji B. Shanmukhappa, Shri T.S. Lucas, Smt. Shantha V.Acharya, Shri M.A. Khalid, Shri Avinash Dikshit, Dr. Dinesh Kumar, Smt. Piya Thakur, Shri P.V. Sai Rangarao, Sri A.P. M. Mohammed Hanish, Sri P.K. Gopinathan, Smt. Sony Komath, Mr. Zakeer Hussain, Shri Jitendra Singh Bundela, Smt. Bhawna Singh Shah, Shri Prakash Disoriya, Shri B.I.Nagarale, Shri Vasantrao Sheshrao Kale, Smt. Vijaya Narayan Deore, Sri Babubrao Changdeorao Hange, Shri R.N. Gawande, Sh. Ibopishak Singh, Shri M.Sushil Kumar Singh, Th. Nabadwip Singh, Th.Heramani Singh, Shri W. Khyilep, Shri W. Lyngdoh, Smt. A.D. Dkhar, Smt. A. Swer, Shri Zoliana Royte, Shri Sangnghilhlova, Pi Boichhingpuii, Pu K. Lalliantluangi, Shri Khyomo Lotha, Shri Atuo Mezher Sekhose, Mrs. Nino L. Iralu, Mr.Zakieo Metha, Shri Niranjan Singh, Shri Mukesh, Smt. Sudha Sharma, Shri O.P.Sagar, Shri Dharma Singh, Shri N.C. Goyal, Smt. Poonam Dutt, Shri Pankaj Sarma, Shri Rakesh Tripathi, Shri V.K. Madhukar, Smt. Saroj Tripathi, Shri J.J. Borah, Shri Hemant Kumar, Mrs. Leena Sarma, Shri S. Hajong, Sri Kali Prasad Mishra, Smt. Jyotsna Biswal, Shri Rama Murti Dora, Shri S.Sundaravadivelu, Thiru C. Krishnaraj, Thirumathi R. Suganthi, Dr. Sadhu Singh Randhawa, Sh. Narinder Singh, Smt. Gurpreet Kaur Dhaliwal, Smt. Pritpal Kaur Sidhu, Mr.Niranjan Arya, Shri Baskar A.Sawant, Smt. Mugth Sinha, Dr.S.R. Jain, Shri H.P. Chhetri, Shri Chandra Kr. Basnet, Smt. Mala Dorjee, Shri Prakash Kazi Shakya, Shri V. Carmelus, Shri M. Elavarasan, Smt. Eausebious Carmelus, Dr.S. Ram Parkash, Shri M. Akhtar, Shri K.P. Rao, Smt. Uma Nagendramani, Shri R. Dhan Jayulu, Shri Sudhir Mital, Dr.Arabinda Ray, Dr.(Mrs.)Santwana Mishra, Shri Ramesh Saran Rai, Dr.P. Perumalsamy, Thiru Harish L.Metha, Selvi D.Vasundara Devi, Dr.D. Rajendran, Mr. Samitra Bandopadhyay, Sri Mrinal Kanti Das, Smt.Purnima Roy, Shri Dulal Debnath, Shri Sanjay Mohan, Shri Vikas Shrivastava, Smt. Prabha Tripathi, Shri K.C. Srivastava, Smt. Pushpa Manas, Shri Anil Negi, Dr. Kusum Rani Naithani, Shri Ravindra Mohan Kala, Shri Shyamal Kumar Biswas, Shri Timir Baran Banerjee, Miss Radhika Pradhan, Shri Pallab Basu, Sh. S.P.Ninawe, Sh.R.P. Shrivastava, Smt. Rekha Yadav & Shri Prashant Kale.

(b): An amount of Rs.1.8 crore, Rs.1.5 crore and Rs.2.00 crore were released during the year 2008-09, 2009-10 and 2010-11 respectively to Bharat Scouts & Guides. No funds have so far been released during the current financial year.

- (c) & (d): Yes, Madam. The annual accounts of Bharat Scouts and Guides, National Association is audited annually by its Auditors namely M/s Thakur and Company, Chartered Accountant, Deen Dayal Upadhayay Marg, New Delhi, who are appointed by the National Council.
- (e): As per the norms of the Bharat Scouts & Guides, National Commissioner and Director are authorized for spending/sanctioning the expenditure at National level and State Chief Commissioner and State Secretary at State level.