GOVERNMENT OF INDIA OVERSEAS INDIAN AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1677 ANSWERED ON:10.08.2011 PRAVASI BHARTIYA SAMMAN Das Shri Ram Sundar

Will the Minister of OVERSEAS INDIAN AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the criteria for selecting awardees of Pravasi Bhartiya Samman;
- (b) the persons involved in the selection process;
- (c) whether suggestions are invited in this regard;
- (d) if so, the details thereof;
- (e) the number of persons felicitated with this award in a year; and

(f) the year-wise and country-wise details of awardees during the last three years?

Answer

MINISTER OF OVERSEAS INDIAN AFFAIRS (SHRI VAYALAR RAVI)

(a): As per notified criteria, the Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award is conferred on a Non-Resident Indian, Person of Indian Origin or an organization or institution established and run by Non-Resident Indians or Persons of Indian Origin, who has made significant contribution in any one of the following fields:

- (i) Better understanding abroad of India;
- (ii) Support to India's causes and concerns in a tangible way;
- (iii) Building closer links between India, the overseas Indian community and their country of residence;
- (iv) Social and humanitarian causes in India or abroad;
- (v) Welfare of the local Indian community;
- (vi) Philanthropic and charitable work;
- (vii) Eminence in one's field or outstanding work, which has enhanced India's prestige in the country of residence; or

(viii) Eminence in skills which has enhanced India's prestige in that country (for non-professional workers).

(b): The selection process is by the Jury-cum-Award Committee under the chairmanship of the Vice President of India. Other members are Minister of Overseas Indian Affairs, Principal Secretary to the Prime Minister of India, Home Secretary, Foreign Secretary, 5 members nominated by Prime Minister of India and Secretary MOIA.

(c) & (d): Nominations of deserving persons, organizations or institutions may be received from one of the following :

- (i) Governors of States and Lieutenant Governors of Union Territories in India.
- (ii) Heads of Indian Diplomatic Missions/ Heads of Indian Diplomatic Posts abroad.

(iii) Chairman and Members of the Parliamentary Standing Committee dealing with the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs,
(iv) The Executive Head of Prominent Overseas Indian Associations with nation-wide character as may be decided by the Ministry of Overseas Indian Affairs. The associations should not nominate their own office bearers.

- (v) Previous awardees of Pravasi Bharatiya Samman Award,
- (e): The maximum number of Awards each year is fifteen.

(f): The name and country-wise details of awardees of last three years is enclosed at Annexure.