# GOVERNMENT OF INDIA ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:1261 ANSWERED ON:08.08.2011 SETTING UP OF NAEB Ray Shri Rudramadhab

#### Will the Minister of ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the Government has set up the National Afforestation and Eco-Development Board (NAEB) in the country;
- (b) if so, the details thereof;
- (c) whether a number of regional centres are functioning in the country;
- (d) if so, the details thereof State-wise and Location-wise; and
- (e) the amount of assistance provided to each centres during each of the last three years and the current year, Centre-wise?

# **Answer**

## MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR ENVIRONMENT AND FORESTS (SHRIMATI JAYANTHI NATARAJAN)

- (a)& (b) Yes, Sir. The National Afforestation Eco-Development Board (NAEB), was setup in the Ministry of Environment and Forests in 1992. The main objectives of the NAEB are to promote afforestation, tree planting, ecological restoration and eco-development activities in the country.
- (c) & (d) Seven Regional Centres of NAEB have been designated in the recognized institute of repute in the country to conduct research studies, to organize workshops and training programmes, monitoring and evaluation etc. The staff employed by the Centres belong to the host organization. The Regional Centre prepares an annual work plan with the approval of Advisory Management Committee of the Centre.

The details of Regional Centres with their mandated states are given below:

```
S.No. Regional Location Mandated States/UTs Centres
```

- 1 Agricultural Finance Delhi Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand, Corporation Ltd., Rajasthan, Haryana States Delhi and Union Territory of Delhi.
- 3 Jadavpur University, Kolkata Bihar, Jharkhand, Sikkim
  Kolkata and West Bengal States and
   Union Territory of Andaman
   and Nicobar Islands.
- 4 Dr. Y.S. Parmar Solan Punjab, Himachal Pradesh and Jammu & Kashmir States and Union Territory of Chandigarh.

- 5 Indian Institute of Bhopal Madhya Pradesh, Chattisgarh and Forest Management, Orissa States
  Bhopal
- 6 University of Bangalore Andhra Pradesh, Kerala,
  Agricultural Tamil Nadu and Karnataka
  Sciences, Bangalore States and Union Territories
  of Pondichery and Lakshadweep.
- 7 North Eastern Hill Shillong Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, University, Shillong Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland and Tripura

### (e) The details of funds provided to each Regional Centre during last three years (2008-09 to 2010-11) are as under:

(Rs.in lakhs)
S.No. Regional Centres Amount Released
2008-09 2009-10 2010-11

- 1 Agricultural Finance 98.00 96.00 83.19 Corporation Ltd., Delhi
- 2 Agricultural Finance 111.50 140.50 66.31 Corporation Ltd., Mumbai
- 3 Indian Institute of Forest 78.29 67.00 65.04 Management, Bhopal
- 4 Dr. Y.S. Parmar University 52.00 89.00 86.38 of Horticulture and Forestry, Nauni, Solan
- 5 Jadavpur University, Kolkata 113.63 133.20 77.19
- 6 University of Agricultural 67.75 50.00 34.13 Sciences, Bangalore
- 7 North Eastern Hill University, 54.21 72.00 83.94 Shillong

During the Current Financial Year (2011-12), no financial assistance has been released so far.