GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HOME AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5459 ANSWERED ON:06.09.2011 EXEMPTION FROM SECURITY CHECK Reddy Shri Anantha Venkatarami

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the categories of people exempted from security checks at civilian airports of the country as per the guidelines laid down by the Governments:
- (b) whether there is any proposal to exempt more categories of people; and
- (c) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI MULLAPPALLY RAMACHANDRAN)

- (a): The Ministry of Civil Aviation, which is the nodal Ministry for civil aviation matters, has informed that Bureau of Civil Aviation Security (BCAS) has issued Order No.06/2009, dated 04.11.2009, wherein categories of people exempted from pre-embarkation security checks at civil airports in the country have been covered. The list of people exempted as per the above mentioned order is at Annexure.
- (b) and (c): Ministry of Civil Aviation has further informed that there is no proposal to exempt more categories of people from such security checks.

Annexure referred to in reply to part (a) of Lok Sabha Unstarred Question No.5459 for 06.09.2011.

List of persons and their accompanying spouses exempted from pre-embarkation security checks at civil airports in the country.

- 1 President
- 2. Vice President
- 3. Prime Minister
- 4. Governors of States
- 5. Former Presidents
- 6. Former Vice-Presidents
- 7 Chief Justice of India
- 8. Speaker of Lok Sabha
- 9. Union Ministers of Cabinet rank
- 10. Chief Ministers of States
- 11. Deputy Chief Ministers of States
- 12. Deputy Chairman, Planning Commission
- 13. Leader of Opposition in Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha
- 14. Holders of Bharat Ratna Decoration
- 15. Ambassadors of foreign countries, Charge D'Affairs and High Commissioners and their spouses
- 16. Judges of Supreme Court
- 17. Chief Election Commissioner
- 18. Comptroller & Auditor-General of India
- 19. Deputy Chairman Rajya Sabha and Deputy Speaker of Lok Sabha
- 20. Minister of State of the Union Council of Ministers
- 21. Attorney General of India
- 22. Cabinet Secretary
- 23. Lt. Governors of Union Territories

- 24. Chiefs of Staffs holding the rank of full General or equivalent rank
- 25. Chief Justices of the High Courts
- 26. Chief Ministers of the Union Territories
- 27. Deputy Chief Ministers of the Union Territories
- 28. Visiting Foreign dignitaries of the same status as at Sl.Nos. 1 to 4,7,8,9 above.
- 29. His Holiness the Dalai Lama
- 30. SPG Protectees
- 31. Shri Robert Vadra, while travelling with SPG Protectees

In addition to the above,

- (i) the spouse of the President of India, even when not accompanying the President and
- (ii) former Prime Ministers of India, are exempted from pre-embarkation security checks at all civilian airports in the country.