GOVERNMENT OF INDIA DEFENCE LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:5157 ANSWERED ON:05.09.2011 ARTILLERY PRACTICES ACT Angadi Shri Suresh Chanabasappa

Will the Minister of DEFENCE be pleased to state:

- (a) whether the 'Manoeuvres, Field Firing and Artillery Practices Act 1938" (under provisions of para 2), stipulates that military manoeuvres over any areas specified in the notification shall not ordinarily be more than three months, once in any period of three years;
- (b) if so, whether the Government strictly acts upon the Act and shifted its sites meant for manoeuvres, field firing and artillery practices from time to time in various States including Karnataka;
- (c) if so, the details thereof, State-wise and site-wise; and
- (d) if not, the reasons therefor?

Answer

MINISTER OF DEFENCE (SHRI A.K. ANTONY)

(a) & (b): Yes, Madam. Para 2 of Chapter I of the 'Manoeuvres, Field Firing and Artillery Practices Act 1938' stipulates the provisions that cover military manoeuvres. However, field firing is a distinctly different training procedure covered under Chapter II of the same Act.

The Army follows the stipulations given in the Act. Military manoeuvres are restricted and their place/site of conduct vary from time to time. However, the field firing/Artillery firing practices are conducted in the notified area during the period specified in the notification and there is no restriction to their duration or periodicity.

(c) & (d): The list of field firing ranges is attached at Annexure.

REFERRED IN THE REPLY GIVEN IN PART (c) & (d) ANNEXURE OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO. 5157 FOR **ANSWER ON 5.9.2011**

STATE WISE DETAILS OF FIELD FIRING RANGES

S.NO. NAME OF RANGE STATE

- 1 Khodala Maharashtra
- 2 Marihal and Extn Karnataka
- 3 Ramdurg Karnataka
- 4 Chengalpattu Tami Nadu
- 5 Veeramalai Tami Nadu
- 6 Balwanta Rajasthan
- 7 Bharja(Mt Abu) Rajasthan
- 8 Kalakot Rajasthan
- 9 Khavda (Near Bhuj) Gujarat
- 10 Bhuj Gujarat
- 11 Baghdad Asmara Karnataka 12 Kambadur Mandal Andhra Pradesh
- 13 Devlali Maharashtra
- 14 KK Ranges (Ahmednagar) Maharashtra
- 15 Babina Madhya Pradesh 16 Pokhran Rajasthan
- 17 Balwanta (Nasirabad) Rajasthan
- 18 Bambori (Sagar) Madhya Pradesh
- 19 Karunga Gujarat 20 Deotamura Tripura
- 21 Garur Basur Assam
- 22 Nara Tiding Assam
- 23 Sikkim B Sikkim
 24 Gamrata Arunachal Pradesh

- 25 Teesta 'B' West Bengal
- 26 Leimakong Manipur 27 Darranga Assam
- 28 Chakki Khad Punjab (99) & HP (97)
- 29 Sumdo Himachal Pradesh
- 30 Hiranagar J&K
 31 Naraingarh HP(30 August 14) & Haryana (30 June 12)
 32 Hoshiarpur Punjab (17) & HP (12)

- 33 Nandani J&K 34 Birgugiana Punjab 35 Tanda (Yol) Himachal Pradesh

- 36 Dauki Uttar Pradesh 37 Rewa Madhya Pradesh 38 Farah Uttar Pradesh 39 Choral Madhya Pradesh
- 40 Extn ABC of No. 9 Mhow Madhya Pradesh
- 41 Ramganga Uttar Pradesh
- 42 Thalkedhar Uttaranchal
- 43 Manjha Uttar Pradesh
 44 Asan Uttaranchal & Uttar Pradesh
 45 Horap Bihar
- 46 Netrahat Jharkhand 47 Deo Dumri Bihar
- 48 Maner Bihar
- 49 Chhotajam Madhya Pradesh 50 Sirmutra Rajasthan 51 Gopalpur Orissa

- 52 Raipur (Dehradun) Uttaranchal
- 53 Hema (Mhow) Madhya Pradesh
- 54 Beirchha Madhya Pradesh
- 55 Kharbuthang Jammu & Kashmir (J&K)
- 56 Tosha Maidan J&K
- 57 Kulum J&K
- J&K
- 58 Tartar J& 59 Mahe J&K
- 60 Garhi
- 61 Kalith
- J&K J&K s J&K 62 Jhallas
- 63 Rajouri J&K 64 Chorkhud J&K
- 65 Mahajan Rajasthan
- 66 Kamrota Rajasthan