GOVERNMENT OF INDIA YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:4466 ANSWERED ON:30.08.2011 MOU ON SPORTS TRAINING CENTRES

Jaiswal Shri Gorakh Prasad ;Singh Shri Bhupendra ;Singh Shri Ganesh;Singh Shri Pashupati Nath;Yadav Shri Madhusudan

Will the Minister of YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS be pleased to state:

- (a) whether any Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) have been signed between the Sports Authority of India (SAI) and the State Governments including Chhattisgarh, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh with regard to sports training centres;
- (b) if so, the details thereof, State-wise;
- (c) whether any action/steps have been taken by the Government/SAI in this regard so far, State-wise;
- (d) if so, the details thereof; and
- (e) if not, the reasons therefor alongwith the steps taken by the Government in this regard?

Answer

THE MINISTER OF STATE (INDEPENDENT CHARGE) FOR YOUTH AFFAIRS AND SPORTS (SHRI AJAY MAKEN)

(a) & (b) The details of Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) signed between Sports Authority of India and State Governments (including Chhatishgarh, Rajasthan and Uttar Pradesh) along with names of Training Centres are given below:-

Name of State Names of State Training Centres in respect of which MoU signed.

Andhra Pradesh Secundrabad, Kurnool and Vishakhapatnam Assam Guwahati Bihar Patna Chhatishgarh Rajnandgaon and Raipur Gujarat Gandhinagar Kurukshetra, Bhiwani, Hissar and Sonepat Harvana Himachal Pradesh Dharamshala and Bilaspur Jammu & Kashmir Udhampur Karnataka Medikeri and Bangalore Kerala Calicut Madhya Pradesh Bhopal Maharashtra Kandivali and Aurangabad Orissa Cuttack, Dhenkanal and Koraput Punjab National Institute of Sports, Patiala, Mustana Sahib and Badal Rajasthan Jodhpur and Alwar Tamil Nadu Chennai Uttar Pradesh Lucknow and Bareilly West Bench Lebong and Siliguri

(c) & (d) MoU has not yet been signed in respect of the following State Training Centre:-

Name of State Name of STCs in respect of which MoU has not been signed.

Andhra Pradesh Eluru and Medak
Assam Golaghat
Goa Goa
Jharkhand Hazaribagh
Karnataka Dharwar
Kerala Trichur, Kollam and Thiruvanthapuram
Manipur Imphal
Madhya Pradesh Dhar, Indore, Jabalpur and Tikamgarh
Meghalaya Shillong
Nagaland Dimapur
Punjab Ludhiana

Tamilnadu Salem Uttar Pradesh Kashipur, Safai Etawah, Allahabad and Jhansi West Bengal Kolkata and Burdwan

Sports Authority of India has initiated action to sign the MoU with the respective State Governments.

(e) Does not arise.