Vol. III

First day of the Second Session of Eleventh Lok Sabha

No 1

LOK SABHA

Wednesday, July 10, 1996/ Asadha 19, 1918 (Saka)

(The Lok Sabha met at Eleven of the Clock) [MR. SPEAKER in the Chair]

NATIONAL ANTHEM

The National Anthem was played.

11.02 hrs.

[English]

KUMARI MAMATA BANERJEE (Calcutta South) : Sir, the situation of price rise...(Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER : You may raise it after the introduction of Ministers.

11.021/2 hrs.

INTRODUCTION OF MINISTERS

MR. SPEAKER : The Prime Minister may introduce the Ministers to the House.

THE PRIME MINISTER (SHRI H.D. DEVE GOWDA): Sir, I introduce to you and through you to the House, my colleagues :

Cabinet Ministers :

- 1.- Shri Beni Prasad Verma, Minister of Communications
- 2. Shri Chaturanan Mishra, Minister of Agriculture
- 3. Shri Indrajit Gupta, Minister of Home Affairs
- Shri Janeshwar Mishra, Minister of Water Resources
- 5. Shri R.L. Jalappa, Minister of Textiles
- Shri Srikanta Kumar Jena, Minister of Parliamentary Affairs and Minister of Tourism

Ministers of State (Independent Charge) :

- 7. Shri Bolla Buli Ramaiah, Minister of State of the Ministry of Commerce
- 8. Shri Dilip Kumar Ray, Minister of State of the Ministry of Food Processing Industries
- 9. Shri Raghubans Prasad Singh, Minister of State of the Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying in the Ministry of Agriculture
- Shri Ramakant D. Khalap, Minister of State of the Department of Legal Affairs, Legislative Department and Department of Justice

- 11. Shri Shees Ram Ola, Minister of State of the Ministry of Chemicals and Fertilizers
- 12. Shri Yoginder K. Alagh, Minister of State of the Ministry of Planning and Programme Implementation and Minister of State of the Ministry of Science and Technology

Ministers of State :

- Shri Dhanushkodi R. Athithan, Minister of State in the Department of Youth Affairs and Sports in the Ministry of Human Resource Development
- 14. Shri Mohd. Maqbool Dar, Minister of State in the Ministry of Home Affairs
- 15. Shri Muhi Ram Saikia, Minister of State in the Department of Education in the Ministry of Human Resource Development
- 16. Shri N.V.N. Somu, Minister of State in the Ministry of Defence
- 17. Shri Satpalji Maharj, Minister of State in the Ministry of Railways.
- 18. Shri Sr. Balasubramoniyan, Minister of State in the Ministry of Personnel, Public Gievances and Pensions and Minister of State in the Ministry of Parliamentary Affairs
- 19. Shri T R. Balu, Minister of State in the Ministry of Petroleum and Natural Gas...(Interruptions)

SHRI RAM NAIK (Mumbai North) : Sir, I am on a point of information. We hear from the newspapers that one Minister has resigned. Is he making any statement in the House as to why he had to resign? ...(Interruptions)

MR. SPEAKER : You may raise it later, after obituary references.

11.05 hrs.

OBITUARY REFERENCES

[English]

MR. SPEAKER . Hon'ble Members, I have to inform the House with profound sorrow of the sad demise of our former colleagues, Shri M. Subha Reddy, Dr. Manoj Pandey and Shri Yagya Datt Sharma.

Shri M. Subha Reddy was a Member of Eighth Lok Sabha representing Nandyal Parliamentary constituency of Andhra Pradesh during 1984-89

Earlier, he had been a member of Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council during 1958-72 and Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly during 1972-78.

An agriculturist by profession, Shri Reddy was an able and active parliamentarian. He took keen