GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HOME AFFAIRS LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:2378 ANSWERED ON:16.08.2011 VISA ON ARRIVAL Jindal Shri Naveen

Will the Minister of HOME AFFAIRS be pleased to state:

- (a) the names of the countries which are extending the facility of 'Visa on arrival' to Indian Passport holders;
- (b) whether the Government is reciprocating the same facility to their citizens as well;
- (c) if not, whether there is any proposal in this regard;
- (d) the names of countries to whose citizens India gives 'Visa on arrival'; and
- (e) whether these countries are also doing the same for our citizens?

Answer

MINISTER OF THE STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HOME AFFAIRS (SHRI MULLAPPALLY RAMACHANDRAN)

(a) to (e): A Statement is enclosed.

STATEMENT IN REPLY TO PARTS (a) TO (e) OF LOK SABHA UNSTARRED QUESTION NO.2378 FOR 16.08.2011

- (a): The names of the countries which are extending the facility of 'Visa on arrival' to Indian Passport holders is placed at Annexure-I.
- (b) to (e): The Tourist Visa on Arrival (TVoA) facility is not provided by India on reciprocal basis. The Government of India has extended Tourist Visa on Arrival facility for the citizens of 11 countries viz. Japan, Singapore, Finland, Luxembourg, New Zealand, Cambodia, Laos, Vietnam, Philippines, Myanmar and Indonesia. The TVoA facility for nationals of these countries has been introduced to promote tourism after inter Ministerial consultation. Four countries (Cambodia, Indonesia, Myanmar and Laos) out of above mentioned 11 countries are providing the Visa on Arrival facility to India.