GOVERNMENT OF INDIA HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT LOK SABHA

UNSTARRED QUESTION NO:562 ANSWERED ON:03.08.2011 IMPLEMENTATION OF RTE ACT Thamaraiselvan Shri R.

Will the Minister of HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT be pleased to state:

- (a) whether it has been revealed during the social conduct of RTE Act, 2009 that the Government circulars on the RTE Act had not reached the schools and the teachers were ill-equipped and ill-trained to implement the new concepts of teachings under the Act;
- (b) if so, the details thereof and the steps taken by the Government in this regard;
- (c) whether the Government is aware that the rules of the RTE Act has to be notified in many States; and
- (d) if so, the details thereof?

Answer

MINISTER OF THE STATE IN THE MINISTRY OF HUMAN RESOURCE DEVELOPMENT (Dr. D. PURANDESWARI)

(a) to (d): The Central Government has taken several steps for implementation of the RTE Act including (a) notifying the Central Right of Children to Free and Compulsory Education Rules,2010; (b) notifying the National Council for Teacher Education (NCTE) as the academic authority under section 23(1) of the RTE Act and the National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT) as the academic authority under section 29(1) of the Act;(c) constitution of a National Advisory Council (NAC) under section 33(1) of the Act;(e) harmonization of norms of the Sarva Shiksha Abhiyan (SSA) with the provisions of RTE Act; (d) laying down the minimum qualification for a person to be eligible for appointment as a teacher in schools;(e) consultation at various forums with the State Governments and other stakeholders regarding implementation of the Act; (f) revising the fund sharing pattern between the Centre and State Governments for implementing;the SSA programme as per the RTE norms.

A series of consultation meetings has been held with State Governments/Union Territory Administrations to spread the message of RTE Act. The following States have framed rules under RTE Act, 2009 Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Manipur, Mizoram, Orissa, Nagaland, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Bihar, Jharkhand and Uttar Pradesh. In addition the UTs of A & N Island, Chandigarh, Dadra & Nagar Haveli, Daman & Diu and Lakshadweep follow the Central Rules.